|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

India elected member of the UN Economic and Social Council for the period 2022-24 | India News


UNITED NATIONS: India has been elected a member of the Economic and Social Council, one of the six main organs of the United Nations, for the period 2022-24.
The 54-member Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is at the heart of the United Nations system to promote the three dimensions of sustainable development: economic, social and environmental.
It is the central platform for fostering debate and innovative thinking, forging a consensus on the ways forward, and coordinating efforts to achieve internationally agreed goals.
It is also responsible for the follow-up to the main United Nations conferences and summits.
India was chosen in the category of Asia-Pacific States along with Afghanistan, Kazakhstan and Oman in the elections held on Monday.
From the African states, Côte d’Ivoire, Eswatini, Mauritius, Tunisia and the United Republic of Tanzania were chosen, while from the states of Eastern Europe, Croatia and the Czech Republic and from the states of Latin America and the Caribbean, Belize, Chile and Peru were elected. chosen one.
In the by-elections of the Economic and Social Council, Greece, New Zealand and Denmark were elected for a term from January to December 2022 and Israel was elected for a term that began on January 1, 2022 and until December 31, 2023 .
“I thank all @UN member states for their vote of confidence in India for #ECOSOC,” tweeted India’s Permanent Representative to the UN, Ambassador TS Tirumurti.
India is currently in the 2021-22 term as a non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council and will assume the presidency of the 15-nation UN body in August.
The UN Charter established ECOSOC in 1945 as one of the six main organs of the United Nations.
The 54 members of ECOSOC are elected for three-year terms by the General Assembly. Council seats are allocated based on geographic representation with 14 allocated to African states, 11 to Asian states, six to Eastern European states, 10 to Latin American and Caribbean states, and 13 to Western Europe and other states. according to the ECOSOC website.

Times of India