|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Offer to facilitate the citizenship process for minorities in Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh | India News


NEW DELHI: The Home Office expanded Friday night the list of states and districts where the respective home secretaries and tax collectors can exercise delegated powers from the central government to grant citizenship to immigrants from six minority communities in Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh
With the addition of 13 more districts in five states, as well as Punjab and Haryana to the list, Hindus, Sikhs, Christians, Parsis, Buddhists and Jains from three neighboring countries, residing in 29 districts and nine states of India, will They will face unless they have trouble acquiring Indian citizenship and can apply for it online.
Ministry sources clarified that the expansion of locations has no link with the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA). Applicants must meet the residency criteria for citizenship by naturalization, on a par with any other foreign applicant, requiring that they be habitual residents of India for 11 of the 14 years prior to the 12 months prior to application, and residency uninterrupted in the last 12 months. The applicant cannot be an illegal immigrant.
In a notification issued on Friday, the ministry said that collectors from Morbi, Rajkot, Patan and Vadodara in Gujarat; Durg and Balodabazar in Chhattisgarh; Jalore, Udaipur, Pali, Barmer and Sirohi in Rajasthan; Faridabad in Haryana and Jalandhar in Punjab would have powers to register individuals as citizens of India under Section 5, or to grant a certificate of naturalization under Section 6 of the Citizenship Act of 1955 with respect to Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh religious minority applicants there. . These powers were also delegated to the Secretaries of the Interior of Punjab and Haryana.

Times of India