|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

West Bengal elections 2021 Phase 7: Peaceful polls conducted in 34 electoral districts; 75.06% of registered electoral participation | India News


NEW DELHI: The seventh phase of the 2021 West Bengal assembly elections peacefully concluded on Monday with an approximate voter turnout of 75.06% as of 6pm, Electoral Commission (EC) said.
“Peaceful polls conducted at 11,376 polling stations in Phase 7. During the ongoing elections up to this phase, the seizure of Rs 332.94 million was reported,” EC said.
Additionally, the campaign for the eighth and final phase of voting for 35 assembly constituencies in the state also ended today.

Voting took place today in 34 constituencies in five districts. Among the 34 electoral districts, six are in Dakshin Dinajpur, six in Malda, nine in Murshidabad, nine in Paschim Bardhaman and four in Kolkata.
Among the five districts, Murshidabad recorded the highest voter turnout of 80.37% as of 6pm.
Regarding electoral districts, Raninagar in Murshidabad district recorded the highest voter turnout of 84.35%, followed by Bhagabangola with 83.50%. The Rashbehari constituency in Kolkata witnessed the lowest voter turnout at 55.93%.
The battle for power in West Bengal reached its penultimate stage when voting for the seventh phase of the state assembly elections began at 7am today.
In Phase VII, more than 81.88 lakh of electorates, including 39.87 lakh of women and 221 third-gender persons, cast their votes in up to 11,376 polling stations.

A total of 268 candidates, including 37 women, were in the fray at this stage of the West Bengal elections.
Decision TMC Y BJP they are competing in all 34 seats. Congress, left-wing parties and the Indian Secular Front (ISF) have formed a coalition and are competing under the banner of Sanyukta Morcha. Of the 34 seats in this round, Congress has 18 in its part, CPI (M) has 12, RSP three, AIFB has one and ISF has four seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is also trying its luck and has put forward 25 candidates.
Voting for the eighth and final phase will take place on April 29, while the counting of votes will take place on May 2.
(With inputs from agencies)

Reference page