|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Campaign for Final Phase of Assam Polls Ends | India News


Campaign for Final Phase of Assam Polls Ends | India News

GUWAHATI: The campaign for the third and final phase of the Assam assembly elections ended on Sunday.
The fate of 337 candidates, including NEDA coordinator and state minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, will be sealed at EVM in 40 electoral districts on April 6.
A number of national leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congressional Prime Minister Rahul Gandhi, campaigned for their respective candidates for the alliance.
Seats, spread over 12 districts, including three in the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR), witnessed last-minute campaigns by candidates, including 25 women, before the end of the campaign.
Modi, who had campaigned in all three phases, addressed two rallies in Kokrajhar and Tamulpur, both at BTR, and highlighted the signing of the Bodo Accord and the development initiatives of the BJP.
Union Interior Minister Amit Shah, another star BJP activist, addressed a series of election rallies in Lower Assam constituencies.
He was scheduled to address three demonstrations on the last day of the campaign, but had to interrupt his visit to Assam and return to New Delhi after the Maoist attack on Chhattisgarh.
BJP chief JP Nadda, union ministers Nitin Gadkari, Narendra Tomar, Jitendra Singh, Smriti Irani, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Anurag Thakur, and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan also campaigned for the party.
Rahul Gandhi visited the Kamkhaya Temple and addressed demonstrations in the Chaygaon and Barkhetri seats, while his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra was also scheduled to campaign in three electoral districts in Lower Assam, but had to cancel the plan after entering. in contact with a person infected with COVID-19.
Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge MPs Dr. Nasir Hussain and Dr. Akhilesh Prasad Singh, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Chhattisgarh counterpart Bhupesh Baghel, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra former Chief Ministers Kamal Nath and Ashok Chavan respectively, and the leader of the AICC, Randeep Singh the candidates of the ‘Grand Alliance’.
‘Mahajoth’ or ‘Great Alliance’ comprises Congress, AIUDF, Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF), CPI (M), CPI, CPI (ML) Liberation, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Anchalik Gana Morcha (AGM).
AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal, the BJP’s main target in this election, carried out an agitated campaign for his party’s candidates alongside those of his alliance partners.
The Assam BJP campaign was led by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Head of the State Unit Ranjeet Kumar Dass, NEDA Coordinator Himanta Biswa Sarma, who has so far addressed the largest number of election rallies, and other ministers of the outgoing assembly.
The Election Commission barred Sarma from campaigning for 48 hours starting April 2 for allegedly making threatening comments against BPF chief Hagrama Mohilary, but requested a review and was subsequently reduced to 24 hours.
The head of the State Congress unit, Ripun Bora, Lok Sabha MPs Pradyut Bordoloi, Gaurav Gogoi and Abdul Khaleque led the party’s campaign together with Jitendra Singh, head of AICC Assam.
The BJP attacked Ajmal accusing him of encouraging illegal immigration from Bangladesh, leading to “landing and loving Jihad.” The saffron party promised to address these problems through the enactment of legislation.
The saffron party, in addition to talking about the development initiatives of the “dual-engine government,” also attacked Congress for aligning itself with the AIUDF.
Congress, on the other hand, focused its campaign on the ‘five guarantees’ of not implementing the CAA, providing government jobs to five lakh youth, 200 units of free energy, increasing the daily wages of tea garden workers to Rs 365 and give a monthly payment. allocation of 2,000 rupees to housewives.
To reach the voters, several contestants played Holi and danced to Bihu songs, as the state’s most important festival, ‘Rongali Bihu’, is only fifteen days away.
Besides Sarma, other important candidates in the fray are Chandra Mohan Patowary (Dharampur), Siddhartha Bhattacharya (Gauhati East), Phanibhushan Choudhury of Asom Gana Parishad (Bongaigaon), BJP Head of State Ranjeet Kumar Dass (Patacharkuchi), Pramilakuchi Ranoki Brahma- East) and Kokrajhar MP Naba Sarania (Barama).
The fate of 20 MLAs in session, including eight from Congress, five from BJP, three from AIUDF and BPF and one from AGP, will be decided in the final phase.
Singer Kalpana Patowary is competing with an AGP ticket from Sarukhetri, while journalists Manjit Mahanta and Hridyananda Gogoi are locked in a battle in Dispur for Congressional and NCP tickets, respectively.
The ruling BJP is contesting 20 electoral districts, while its allies AGP in 12 and UPPL in eight.
Congress is contesting 23 seats while its partners AIUDF in 12, BPF in eight and CPI (M) in one. A friendly contest between AIUDF and Congress will be witnessed in four seats.
The newly floated Assam Jatiya Parishad is contesting 21 seats.
A total of 79,19,641 voters, including 40,11,539 men, 39,07,963 women, and 139 third-gender people are eligible to exercise their right to vote.


Original source