|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Campaign for the second phase of the assembly elections in Assam ends | India News


GUWAHATI: A high-octane election campaign for the second phase of the Assam assembly polls, led by a number of national and state leaders, came to an end Tuesday night.
The second phase of the state elections will decide the fate of 345 candidates in 39 seats who will go to the polls on April 1.
The issue of the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) was at the forefront of the campaign, with the BJP, which had maintained a studied silence on the matter in the period prior to the first phase of the vote, raising it in the Barak Valley this time like a carrot. to the predominantly Hindu Bengali population, some of whom have their roots in Bangladesh.
In publishing the party’s manifesto for the Assam elections, BJP Chairman JP Nadda made a reference to the CAA, mentioning that it would be implemented in time.
Union Interior Minister and BJP leader Amit Shah, at his election rallies in Patharkandi and Silchar, mentioned the controversial legislation, for the first time, ensuring that citizenship rights will be granted to refugees, while stating that the BJP will not allow infiltrators to enter the state.
The BJP was, in particular, strident in its attack on AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal, accusing him of encouraging illegal infiltration, leading to encroachments and “jihad of land and love” that the party promised to address.
In addition to claims of development initiatives taken for Assam by the BJP’s ‘dual-engine’ governments in both the Center and the state, the party has also targeted Congress for aligning itself with the AIUDF and allegedly encouraging infiltration by its “vested interest in creating a vote. -Bank”.
After the announcement of the election dates in late February, Prime Minister Narendra Modi started his campaign from Karimganj in Barak Valley.
Barak Valley has 15 seats in the 126-member state assembly.
Modi also held a rally in Sipajhar from where the former president of Asam Sahitya Sabha, Paramanda Rajbongshi, is running as a BJP candidate.
BJP Chairman JP Nadda had sounded the party’s bugle from Silchar in Barak Valley, nearly two months before the Election Commission of India announced the calendar for state elections in the northeastern state.
Both Modi and Nadda noted that the people of Barak Valley had sent party candidates to the assembly long before the saffron party made significant progress in Assam.
The 39 electoral districts, spread over 13 districts of the Barak Valley, three mountainous districts and parts of central and lower Assam, witnessed last-minute campaigns by the candidates and their supporters.
Prominent BJP leaders campaigning for candidates in the second phase include Central Ministers Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Narendra Tomar, Jitendra Singh, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, among others.
The BJP, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United Liberal Party (UPPL) are alliance partners.
Congressional leader Rahul Gandhi, who was scheduled to address election rallies in Haflong and Bokajan during the day and interact with women in Silchar, was unable to arrive due to inclement weather.
However, by communicating with voters via video message, he said, the party-led Grand Alliance will implement its “five guarantees” electoral promise.
The ‘five guarantees’ include ‘overriding’ the CAA in the state, providing five lakhs of government jobs to youth in five years, 200 units of free electricity, increasing the daily wage of tea garden workers in the current Rs 193 to Rs 365 and Rs 2,000 per month for housewives.
The prominent personalities for the Grand Alliance candidate scrutiny, comprising Congress, AIUDF, Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF), CPI (M), CPI, CPI (ML-L), Rashtriya Janata Dal ( RJD) and Anchalika Gana Morcha (AGM) included Rajya Sabha Parliamentarians Mallikaarjun Kharge, Dr. Nasir Hussain and Dr. Akhilesh Prasad Singh, Chhatisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel.
Former Madhya Pradesh chief ministers Kamal Nath and Ashok Chavan of Maharashtra, AICC leader Randeep Singh Surjewala, RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav, AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal and CPI’s Kanhaiya Kumar had also campaigned for the candidates of the Great Alliance.
At the state level, the BJP election campaign was led by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, state unit chair Ranjeet Kumar Dass, NEDA coordinator Himanta Biswa, who has so far addressed the maximum number of election rallies, and various ministers of the outgoing assembly.
For the Congress, the president of the state unit Ripun Bora, the parliamentarians of Lok Sabha Pradyut Bordoloi, Gaurav Gogoi and Abdul Khaleque led the campaign together with AICC in charge of Assam Jitendra Singh.
While campaigning, AIUDF highlighted the CAA and promised that it will not be implemented in Assam, as well as assuring voters that the BJP’s alleged polarization tactics will not be allowed to succeed.
With the Holi festival falling during the campaign period and Assam’s most important festival, ‘Rongali Bihu’, barely fifteen days away, the moment helped contestants get closer to voters with many color-stained supporters, dancing to the sound of songs from Bihu and campaign songs from political parties.
Among the prominent candidates in the fray are Ministers Parimal Suklabaidya (Dholai), Pijush Hazarika (Jagiroad), Bhabesh Kalita (Rangiya), Pijush Hazarika (Jagiroad), Sum Ronghang (Diphu) and Rihon Daimary (Udalguri), in addition to the Vice President Aminul. Haque, Laskar (Sonai) and Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary (Panery).
Former Congress Minister Gautam Roy is competing for a BJP ticket from Katigora, while his son Rahul Roy and daughter-in-law Daisy Roy are competing as independents from Udharbond and Algapur respectively.
Other candidates in the fray are former Congress Minister Siddeque Ahmed (Karimganj South), MLA Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha (Karimganj North), AIUDF MLA Suzamuddin Laskar (Katlicherra) and Nizamuddin Choudhury (Algapur).
AIUDF chief’s brother Badruddin Ajmal, Sirajuddin Ajmal, former MP and MLA, is also competing in the second phase from Jamunamukh, while former congressional spokesperson Durga Das Boro is competing as the Kalaigaon BPF candidate.
The ruling BJP is competing in 34 seats and its allies, the AGP in six and the UPPL in three, with friendly contests in four electoral districts, two each with the AGP and the UPPL.
Congress is disputed in 27, its partners AIUDF in eight and BPF in four.
The newly formed Assam Jatiya Parishad is competing for 17 seats, while 174 independents are also in the fray.
A total electorate of 73,44,631, including 37,34,537 men, 36,09,959 women and 135 of the third gender, are eligible to exercise their right to vote in 10,592 polling stations in the second phase.

Original source