|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Uttarakhand: Trivendra Singh Rawat fails to break the curse | India News


NEW DELHI: In an unprecedented turn of events, Uttarakhand CM Trivendra Singh Rawat surrendered his resignation as State CM to Governor Baby Rani Maurya. He became CM on March 18, 2017 and continued in office until today afternoon.
This makes him join the list of BJP leaders who were unable to complete a 5-year term as CM. None of the BJP CMs have been able to serve a full 5-year term as CMs in Himalyan State. In a way, he also fails to break the curse of the saffron party.
Rawat became CM after the BJP achieved an emphatic victory in the 2017 assembly polls by garnering 57 seats in the 70-member assembly. Congress bagged 11 and it was the end of the Harish Rawat regime.
BJP leaders Bhagat Singh Koshiyari, Major General BC Khanduri (twice) and Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal “Nishank” along with Trivendra Singh Rawat – all have been CM of the state – but were unable to complete their term.
In fact, in the state’s two decades of history, only one CM, Congressional Narayan Dutt Tiwari, has been able to complete his full five-year term.
With one more year left for the assembly elections, the state will now have a new CM.
The BJP’s central leadership recently sent the party’s vice president, Raman Singh, and general secretary Dushayant Kumar Gautam, as state observers amid reports of discontent against the prime minister. Observers received feedback from the state core group.
Candidates for the highest post include former Governor of Maharashtra and CM Bhagat Singh Koshyari, Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, State Minister for Higher Education Dhan Singh Rawat, State Tourism Minister Satpal Maharaj , Lok Sabha member Ajay Bhatt, Uttarakhand member Rajya Sabha Anil Baluni and RSS Secretary General of State Suresh Bhatt.
According to sources, the party is also considering the option of incorporating a leader from the Kumaon region as the main deputy minister. Sources also added that Khatima MLA Pushkar Singh Dhami appears to be the front-runner for that position.

Reference page