|  | 


Two months after CM Jagan Reddy’s complaint, the Chief Justice of Andhra Pradesh was transferred


The Union government on Thursday authorized the transfer of Andhra Pradesh Chief Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari to the Sikkim High Court as its new Chief Justice in a direct exchange with Judge Arup Kumar Goswami, who is moving from Sikkim to Andhra Pradesh.

The notifications were issued by the Ministry of Justice following recommendations made by the Supreme Court College on December 14, when their meeting was chaired by Chief Justice of India (CJI) SA Bobde, and the following two attended Senior Judges, Justices NV Ramana and Rohinton Nariman.

The event comes after an unprecedented dispute between the high court and Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, who accused the state judiciary of stalling all political decisions of his government.

After months of friction, the fight reached a fever pitch in September when the high court issued a gag order against the media not to report the content of a first information report (FIR) on a land scandal in Amaravati. , which allegedly involved former Attorney General Dammalapati Srinivas and the daughters of a sitting Supreme Court Justice, Justice NV Ramana.

In October, CM Reddy wrote a letter to CJI Bobde, complaining that Judge Ramana was trying to influence the cases in the high court to destabilize his government. This letter was released to the media by Reddy’s senior adviser, Ajeya Kallam, at a press conference.

In a state government appeal, the Supreme Court on November 25 lifted the gag order on the FIR complaint, while a slew of petitions calling for action against CM Reddy for his comments against Judge Ramana in the letter were dismissed by the superior court on December 1.

On December 30, Judge Rakesh Kumar’s court in Andhra Pradesh’s high court said that the transfer of the head judges would delay the proceedings in the case of the three capitals and the pending cases of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) against Reddy, giving him an “undue advantage”. ”. The judge’s scathing comments came when the state government requested his recusal of a case. Judge Kumar withdrew on Friday.

The Ministry of Justice has also notified the transfer of the President of the Telangana High Court, Judge RS Chauhan, as the new President of the Uttarakhand High Court. The Chief Justice, Mohammad Rafiq, who was on the Orissa High Court, was appointed Chief Justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court.

The higher courts of Telangana and Orissa will now be headed by two judges from different higher courts whose elevations were also notified on Friday: Justices Hima Kohli and S Muralidhar, respectively.

Judge Sanjib Banerjee, judge of the Calcutta High Court, has been appointed the new President of the Madras High Court.

View original