|  | 


Haryana Civic Election Results: Setback for BJP-JJP Amid Farmers’ Protest | Key updates – news from india


In what is seen as a mandate against farm laws, the ruling BJP-JJP combined in Haryana suffered a setback as it was only able to win one of three mayoral seats for which elections were held recently and the results of which were declared on Wednesday. . . It was the first time that direct elections for the mayoral positions were held in Ambala, Panchkula and Sonipat.

> Congress and the Haryana Jan Chetna Party (HJCP) served as mayors in Sonipat and Ambala.

> BJP won the post of mayor of Panchkula, but with a small margin. Kulbhushan Goyal of the BJP defeated Congressional candidate and former Mayor Upinder Kaur Ahluwalia by 2,057 votes. 1,333 voters exercised the NOTE option in Panchkula.

> In 2018, the BJP had won the mayoral elections in Hisar, Karnal, Panipat, Rohtak and Yamunanagar.

> In November this year, the ruling team failed to win the Baroda by-elections in Sonipat, and Congress retained the seat.

> For the office of mayor in Ambala, Shakti Rani Sharma, wife of former Union Minister Venod Sharma of the HJCP, emerged as a surprise winner, defeating Vandana Sharma of the BJP by a margin of 8,084 votes. . The victory was a boost for the party led by Venod Sharma, which tasted its first victory after the 2014 Haryana assembly poll debacle.

> Congress won the Sonipat mayoral elections. Nikhil Madaan of the party defeated Lalit Batra of BJP by 13,818 votes.

Elections were also held to elect councilors from all the districts in the three cities. Voting also took place to elect the president and members of the Rewari municipal council and the municipal committees of Sampla (Rohtak), Dharuhera (Rewari) and Ukalana (Hisar). In Ambala MC’s polls, the BJP won eight of the 20 seats, HJCP 7, Congress 3, and Haryana Democratic Front 2.

In Sonipat, the BJP won 10 districts and Congress 9. In one seat, an Independiente was victorious.

In Panchkula, the BJP and Congress won nine and seven seats, respectively. The JJP won two.

The post of chairman of the Rewari municipal council was filled by Poonam Yadav of the BJP, who defeated independent candidate Upma Yadav by 2,087 votes. Congress slipped to third place here. The combined BJP-JJP failed to hold chairman positions on three municipal committees in Dharuhera, Sampla and Uklana, where the independents reaped profits.

Kanwar Singh won from Dharuhera, defeating another independent candidate, Deena Ram. At Sampla, Pooja defeated Sonu from BJP while Sushil Sahu Wala defeated Mahender Soni from JJP at Uklana.

(With PTI inputs)

Reference site