|  | 


Arunachal Pradesh: 6 JD (U) MLA join BJP ahead of local poll results


The Janata Dal (United), or JD (U) received a major shock in Arunachal Pradesh, with six of its seven MLA changing their allegiance to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), said a bulletin issued by the state legislature.

The only MLA of the Arunachal People’s Party (PPA), Kardo Nyigyor from the Likabali constituency, has also joined the saffron party.

JD (U) National President and Chief Minister of Bihar Nitish Kumar, however, downplayed development, saying: “It’s not a big problem. The national executive will meet on December 26 and 27 ”. “Right now, we are focusing on our proposed meeting. They have gone their own way, ”he said in Patna.

The development comes a day before the announcement of the results of the municipal and panchayat elections. The JD (U) MLA who switched sides are Talem Taboh from the Rumgong Assembly constituency, Hayeng Mangfi (Chayang Tajo), Jikke Tako (Tali), Dorjee Wangdi Kharma (Kalaktang), Dongru Siongju (Bomdila) and Kanggong Taku from the Mariyang-Geku constituency, the bulletin read.

On November 26, the JD (U) had issued Proof of Cause notices to Siongju, Kharma and Taku for “anti-party” activities, and suspended them. The six JD (U) MLAs had previously elected Talem Taboh as the new Legislative Party leader, allegedly without the knowledge of senior party members.

The PPA MLA was also suspended by the regional team earlier this month. “We have accepted your letters which convey the intention to join the party,” said BJP Arunachal Pradesh President BR Waghe.

Following the change, the BJP now has 48 MLAs in the 60-member House, while the JD (U) is left with just one.

(With PTI inputs)

Hindustan Times