|  | 


‘Not Even Fully Jammu Based’: Omar Abdullah Mocks BJP After DDC Election Results


The leader of the National Conference, Omar Abdullah, attacked the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday as the results of the District Development Council (DDC) election came in. Abdullah said the figures show that the BJP is not even a “totally Jammu-based” party.

“I congratulate you (BJP) on your 3 seats (in Kashmir), but what about our 35 seats in Jammu? Admit that we have a panoramic J&K presence. BJP keeps calling us Kashmir-based party. If we are in Kashmir with 35 seats in Jammu, then they are not even fully based in Jammu, ”the ANI news agency quoted Abdullah as saying.

According to the latest set of results, the Popular Alliance for the Gupkar Declaration (PAGD), led by the National Conference, won 112 seats in the first elections to 288 DDC, while the BJP emerged as the largest party with 75 seats. . The vote count is still in progress.

Of the 140 seats in the 10 districts of the Jammu region, the BJP has won 71 including eight in Doda, 11 in Jammu, 13 in Kathua, three in Kishtwar, two in Rajouri, three in Ramban, seven in Reasi, 13 in Samba and 11 in the Udhampur district.

Meanwhile, the National Conference has won 25 seats: one in Doda, one in Jammu’s Dansal, six in Kishtwar, two in Poonch, five in Rajouri, six in Ramban, three in Reasi and one in the Samba district.

In a tweet earlier that day, Abdullah had said: “It’s fun to see the desperation of the BJP propaganda wallas. Yesterday there were about 3 seats in the valley and today it is about being the largest party. They are not even ashamed to make comparisons with @jknc, who contested far fewer seats due to an alliance. “

The PAGD is made up of seven parties: National Conference (NC), People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Hakeem Mohammad Yaseen Shah’s Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Front (PDF), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Jammu and Kashmir People’s Movement by Javid Mustafa (JKPM), the Jammu and Kashmir People’s Conference of Sajjad Lone (JKPC) and the National Awami Conference of Muzaffar Shah.

While North Carolina leader Farooq Abdullah was elected as PAGD chair, Mehbooba Mufti was elected to serve as vice chair.

Voting took place in eight phases starting on November 28 and ending on December 19.

View original