|  | 


The Rise of BJP, the Decline of TRS, and AIMIM’s Best Strike Rate: Key Takeaways from Hyderabad Civic Survey Results


The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has become the largest party, winning 55 out of 150 districts in the tightly-contested Hyderabad municipal elections. However, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stole the show, making huge profits for 48 districts, following a strong campaign that saw several Union ministers and high-level leaders visiting the city in the run-up to the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC). center.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) was behind the BJP, but they performed well. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM has become the kingmaker with 44 rooms and 10 ex-officio members. His party continued to dominate in Hyderabad as it clung to its 2016 bill. Congress, which has been sidelined, has only two seats. Results have been reported for 149 out of 150 GHMC divisions.

This time, TRS won fewer seats than it did in the 2016 election, when it won a majority in the GHMC elections.

How did the parties fare in previous polls?

In the last GHMC elections in 2016, the TRS won 99 districts, AIMIM 44, the BJP four, Congress two, and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) one. Before that, in 2009, Congress had bagged 52 districts, TDP 45, AIMIM 43, and the BJP four in GHMC elections. This time, the BJP hopes to improve its tally, as its share of votes has risen in the state. His confidence also increased after winning elections in the Dubbak Assembly constituency.

In the 2018 assembly polls, the BJP had won just one seat with just over 7 percent of the vote. But just a year later, in Lok Sabha polls, he won four parliamentary seats with 19.45 percent of the vote. The BJP had also won the high-profile seat in Nizamabad, where Arvind Dharmapuri defeated Prime Minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s daughter, K Kavitha.

Congress, which was in alliance with the TDP, won 19 seats with 28.43 percent participation in the vote in the 2018 assembly elections. But in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Congress lagged behind the BJP in terms of seats and was able to win only three seats with 29.48 percent of the vote.

View original