|  | 


BJP wins three MLC seats in UP, loses Varanasi to SP candidate


The ruling Bharatiya Janata party won three of the six Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council seats whose results were announced on Friday.

While the BJP managed to end the decades-long dominance of the eight-time MLC Om Prakash Sharma in Meerut, it finished third in Varanasi, where Lal Bihari Yadav of the Samajwadi Party won.

BJP’s Umesh Dwivedi won the Lucknow division masters seat, Shrichand Sharma the Meerut seat and Hari Singh Dhillon the Bareilly-Moradabad seat, the results showed.

Akash Agrawal and Dhruv Kumar Tripathi, both independent candidates, won the professorships of Agra and Gorakhpur, respectively.

This is the first time that the BJP has challenged Vidhan Parishad’s polls before the teachers’ constituencies.

Biennial elections for the 11 seats were held on December 1 after a hectic campaign by the candidates and their parties. A total of 199 candidates were in the fray.

The counting of the 11 seats began Thursday and the results of the remaining seats are likely to be announced on Saturday, authorities said.

The BJP, the SP, Congress and the teachers’ associations disputed the polls.

Of the 11 seats, five are graduate constituencies and six are teachers’ districts.

The mandate of the MLCs for these constituencies expired on May 6.

(With contributions from the agency)

Hindustan Times