|  | 


GHMC 2020 Election Results: AIMIM Candidates Win in Mehdipatnam and Dabeerpura Divisions


The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) recorded its first victories in the vote count for the 2020 Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections on Friday.

While AIMIM candidate and former Hyderabad mayor Majid Hussain won in the Mehdipatnam division, Hussain Khan emerged victorious in the Dabeerpura division.

In the last GHMC election, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) won in 99 districts. AIMIM pocketed 44, with the remaining seven districts won by other parties and independents.

The counting of votes in the contested GHMC elections began in Hyderabad at 8 am on Friday.

The Telangana State Elections Commission (SEC) has established counting centers at 30 locations in the city amid strict security arrangements for the process.

Out of the total 150 districts in the GHMC, a vote was held for 149 districts on December 1 and a new poll was conducted in one district (Old Malakpet) on Thursday.

The position of mayor is reserved for a woman this time. The elections were held with ballots in view of the Covid-19 pandemic. Of the 74.67 lakh voters, only 46.55 per cent exercised their right to vote using the ballot method.

In Hyderabad city commission, 817 new polling stations have been established compared to 2016. There are 2,146 normal polling stations, 1,517 sensitive polling stations and 167 hypersensitive polling stations.

Reference site