|  | 


Candy, crackers: BJP celebrates ‘moral victory’ in GHMC elections


With the vote counting in the Greater Hyderabad City Council elections reaching their final stages on Friday, the BJP began celebrating what it called its ‘moral victory’ in a hitherto unknown region. In the 2016 civic elections, the BJP had won four seats. The number in 2020 was 48, four seats more than the local AIMIM party. “Today’s results indicate that we have the blessing of the people in our efforts to bring the BJP government to Telangana in the 2023 elections. TRS has failed, the people are against the government of their dynasty and corruption. People have paved the way for a BJP government in Telangana, in the coming days, ”said Minister of State, Home, G Kishan Reddy, as he began distributing sweets in the middle of the count.

BJP supporters also started busting cookies in Hyderabad as the results were announced.

Like the high-octane campaign before the elections, the BJP’s reaction to the result was also highlighted when the party’s top leaders including Amit Shah, JP Nadda congratulated the victory.

“The historical result of BJP in the Hyderabad GHMC elections shows that the people of the country support the development agenda only and exclusively. This result reflects the unequivocal support of the people for the development and governance model of Hon PM Shri @narendramodi ji ”, tweeted the head of the BJP.

BJP general secretary Bhupender Yadav called BJP’s result – second in the race as it was ahead of AIMIM during the count – as a “moral victory”.

The BJP’s performance has confirmed the trend that it is replacing Congress as TRS’s main rival, Yadav said. The party had won four state seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections and then its victory in the Assembly vote in Dubbaka came as a surprise.

“The results are very encouraging and a moral boost for the BJP and, in a way, it is a moral victory for the party. The results reaffirm that Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s leadership and his model of good governance has acceptability in all regions, ”Yadav, who was appointed in charge of local elections in Hyderabad, told PTI.

While the TRS ran candidates in all 150 electoral districts, the BJP ran candidates in 149. Congress, AIMIM, and the TDP ran candidates in 146, 51, and 106 districts, respectively. The TRS won 55 seats and Congress won only two seats.

Reference site