|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Sushil Modi set equal record for archrival Lalu Prasad by entering both houses of Parliament, state legislature | India News


PATNA: Former CM MP and Bihar BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi is set to break the record of his archrival, RJD head Lalu Prasad, by becoming a member of both houses of Parliament and the state legislature.
Modi, who on Wednesday submitted his nomination papers for the by-seat elections to Rajya Sabha of Bihar, is ready to enter the Upper House of Parliament as the opposition, in all likelihood, is not going to put its candidate in against the BJP. loyal.
If Modi wins the Rajya Sabha by-elections, he will be matched by his archrival, RJD chief Lalu Prasad, by becoming a member of all four legislative chambers: Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, the state assembly and the state legislative council.
In addition to Lalu, former trade union minister Nagmani also has a track record of being a member of all four state and central legislative chambers.
Lalu made this record in 2002 when he joined the Rajya Sabha after serving in three other legislative chambers. Lalu first entered the Lok Sabha in 1977, the Bihar assembly in 1980, and the state legislative council in 1990.
After Lalu, the former Chatra Nagmani deputy made a similar record in 2006 when he was elected to the state legislative council. Before being elected to the state council, Nagmani had entered the Bihar assembly in 1977 by winning the seat of Kurtha, the Rajya Sabha in 1994 as a member of Janta Dal, and the Lok Sabha in 1999 by winning the seat of Chatra ( now in Jharkhand) at the RJD symbol.
Sushil Modi entered the Bihar assembly in 1990, the Lok Sabha in 2004 after winning a seat in Bhagalpur and the state legislative council in 2005.
“If Modi wins the current Rajya Sabha general election, he will equal Lalu Prasad’s record after a gap of 18 years and my record after a gap of 14 years,” former Union Minister Nagmani told TOI on Wednesday .
Nagmani said that except for him and Lalu, no other Bihar politician would be allowed to enter the four legislative chambers in the Center and in the state.

Times of India