|  | 


BJP to contest all 117 seats in 2022 Punjab assembly elections


Almost two months after the BJP’s long-term ally in Punjab Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) was separated from the NDA over controversial agricultural laws, the party’s general secretary, Tarun Chugh, announced that the Bharatiya Janata Party will contest the 117 Assembly constituencies in the 2022 state elections alone, posing a major challenge to the Congress party and the government of Captain Amarinder Singh.

“BJP is strengthening its war footing organization to contest the 117 Assembly seats in Punjab,” Chugh said.

Why did SAD leave the NDA?

In September, the SAD opposed the NDA over the enactment of three new agricultural sector reform laws: the Trade in Agricultural Products and Trade (Promotion and Facilitation) Act of 2020, the Farmers Agreement (Empowerment and Protection) on Price Guarantee and Agricultural Services Act 2020, and Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act 2020. Later, SAD MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal also resigned from the Union cabinet.

What is the history of SAD’s alliance with the BJP?

The BJP alliance with SAD in Punjab dates back to 1992. According to the seat sharing formula established between the allies over the years, the SAD is the main partner used to compete for around 94 seats and the BJP for 23 Of the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, SAD used to run candidates in 10 districts and the BJP in three. In the 2017 Assembly elections, Congress won an absolute majority in the state by winning 77 seats and overthrew the SAD-BJP government after 10 years. The SAD-BJP performed poorly in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, gaining 2 seats each, while Congress won 8 seats in Punjab.

(with contributions from the agency)

Hindustan Times