|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Coronavirus in India: total blockade in 30 states / UTs; curfew to enter Delhi | India News


NEW DELHI: As most of India closed in a mega effort to stop the spread of Covid-19 – complete closures announced in 30 states / UT and a total of 548 districts – Delhi prepared to step up measures to keep people at home. Delhi Police will issue “curfew passes” to facilitate the cross-border movement of people dedicated to providing essential goods.

Police issued an order to that effect on Monday night. From now on, people from Delhi-based essential services organizations, both private and government, can move around the city to work displaying their official identity cards. Because interstate borders have been sealed, private NCR-based organizations dedicated to providing essential services must obtain passes by 12 noon Tuesday from the department’s designated DCP office. On Monday, the police registered 475 cases for violation of the government order restricting the movement of people. Around 100 cases were also registered for violations under section 188 IPC (disobedience to government instructions) and 326 cases under section 65 of the DP Law.

The crackdown came even as more areas of India were closed on Monday when the battle against Covid-19 entered a decisive phase, with the Punjab government and the Chandigarh administration imposing the curfew. The Pinarayi government in India’s second worst affected state, Kerala, which had failed to comply with the Center’s directive to impose a blockade just 24 hours ago, also decided to follow other states on Monday by ordering the state’s complete closure until 31. of March. The blockade was imposed on Monday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Gujarat, Assam and Manipur.

On Sunday Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh, Rajasthan, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram had ordered the complete closure. According to information from the Center, 30 state / UT governments have imposed a total blockade on their respective territories. Severe restrictions have been placed on the movement of people in almost 600 districts in total. Three other governments have blocked certain areas in the states, covering a total of 58 districts.

Times of India