|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Coronavirus – India Lockdown 82 districts: officially or unofficially, India blocked, restrictions established in 82 districts | India News

NEW DELHI: Despite the all-day “janata curfew” called by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, coming to an end on Sunday night, much of India was blocked and most of the State governments have extended the complete closure of public transportation and other restrictions to vary periods to fight the spread of Covid-19.

While many governments put entire states or Union territories under closure, others ordered those districts that have reported Covid-19 cases to remain closed. However, essential services like hospitals, telecommunications, pharmacies, supermarkets, milk and vegetables will remain open.

In Mumbai, the administration took action immediately after the “janata curfew” with the police practically imposing a curfew until 5 am on Monday.

According to the police order, “the presence or movement of one or more people is prohibited” within the city limits of Mumbai. The railways have also announced the cancellation of all local trains on the Central and Western Railways, while Section 144 of CrPC was imposed in all urban areas.

According to the health ministry, at least 82 districts in 23 states across the country closed Sunday at 8 p.m.

The decision on the blockade followed a high-level review meeting chaired by the Cabinet Secretary and the Prime Minister’s Chief Secretary with the Chief Secretaries and Health Secretaries of all states where the Center emphasized the need to break the chain of transmission to contain Covid-19. The Center also authorized states to expand the list of districts for closure based on their risk assessment.

“This blockade is a natural and logical extension of the” janata curfew “and is vital in breaking the chain of transmission,” joint secretary of the health ministry Lav Agarwal said after the meeting. All public transportation, including Metro rail and train services, and local and interstate bus services, have been suspended until March 31. However, good trains will continue to ensure the availability of essential products.

Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir and Chandigarh were among the states and territories of the Union that were completely blocked on Sunday until March 31. On Saturday night, Rajasthan was the first state in the country under complete blockade

In Madhya Pradesh, 20 districts, including Bhopal, have been closed.

UP Prime Minister Yogi Adityanath announced that 15 districts in the state, including state capital Lucknow and Noida and Ghaziabad in the NCR, will be under complete blockade until March 25. The other districts are Agra, Varanasi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Kanpur, Aligarh, Gorakhpur, Azamgarh, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Prayagraj, Meerut and Moradabad.

“The closure to sanitize cities has been announced to counter the spread of Covid-19,” Yogi said. The CM indicated that more districts will be blocked in the coming days when it said that “people should be prepared for more measures such as the” janata curfew “in the future to contain the spread of the disease.”

In Bengal, the Mamata Banerjee government declared a total closure in the cities of Kolkata, Salt Lake and New Town, as well as Howrah, Malda, Murshidabad, North Dinajpur, Hooghly, Birbhum and West Burdwan districts from 5pm on 22 March until midnight. March 27th. Almost all municipal cities in 16 other districts of the state have also been closed. In addition to staples and essential medicines, the state government has also exempted “e-commerce grocery and food and home delivery of food” from the shutdown.

While Punjab and Chandigarh were locked up, in neighboring Himachal and Haryana, districts where Covid-19 cases have been reported were brought under control. Of the total of 22 districts in Haryana, the closure was announced in seven: Gurgaon, Sonipat, Panchkula, Rohtak, Jhajjar, Faridabad and Panipat. In Himachal, the Kangra district was closed.

The Bihar government ordered the closure of security at the headquarters of the 38 districts, 101 subdivided cities and 534 blocks with immediate effect until March 31.

Karnataka locked up nine of its districts until March 31. Odisha has imposed a week-long shutdown on five districts and nine local urban bodies since Sunday. The Naveen Patnaik government has also suspended all interstate bus services.

Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram, which until now have been free of Covid19, became the first northeastern states where the blockade took effect from Sunday at midnight. While in Nagaland it is for an indefinite period, the Arunachal Pradesh government said it will start at 5 p.m. Monday and runs through March 31 at midnight. In Mizoram, the running of the bulls will last one week from Sunday.

However, while most governments ordered the closure in their respective regions, Kerala, the second most affected state in the country, did not comply with the Center’s recommendation to close 10 of its districts. “Currently, we have a closure in Kasaragod and restrictions in other select districts. We will discuss whether that closure is also necessary in other districts … There will be restrictions and they will be decided on Monday, “Chief Secretary Tom Jose said.

Times of India