|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Passenger entry from 36 countries temporarily prohibited; Another 11 will be quarantined | India News

NEW DELHI: India has temporarily banned the entry of passengers from 36 countries, while people traveling from 11 countries will be mandatorily quarantined in the wake of the coronavirus outbreak, the Interior Ministry said on Wednesday.

The ministry also said that holders of Overseas Citizens of India (OCI) cards, except from restricted countries, will need to obtain a new visa from the Indian mission and be allowed to enter India.

“No airline will bring passengers from Australia, Belgium, Bulgeria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands , Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom from 12 GMT on March 12 at the port of departure, “said a spokesman for the Interior Ministry.

Airlines are prohibited from bringing passengers from the Philippines, Malaysia and Afghanistan from March 17 to the port of departure.

The spokesperson said that there will be no transit through these countries, as no aircraft will board passengers for India in these countries.

All passengers arriving / transiting the UAE, Qatar, Oman and Kuwait after 12:00 GMT on March 18 (port of departure) will be quarantined.

Those who have visited China, the Republic of Korea, Iran, Italy, Spain, France and Germany on or after February 15 will be quarantined, the spokesperson said.

Those Indians who come from the Republic of Korea or Italy, it is mandatory to obtain negative COVID-19 certificates.

Passengers from Italy will not be allowed from March 18 (departure port).

Indians transiting through China, Korea, Iran, Italy, Spain and France will be quarantined upon arrival in India.

The spokesman said Indians are strongly recommended to avoid nonessential travel to countries affected by the coronavirus.

Foreigners currently in India can extend their visas and for that they must approach their FRRO / FRO jurisdiction online.

Foreigners currently in India can leave the country. However, they can return to India with new visa issues only from the mission.

OCI cardholders must obtain a new mission visa and are allowed to enter India, except from restricted countries.

Babies / children holding foreign passports with OCI cards must obtain a new visa from the Indian mission.

Original source