|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

Ban orders in Shaheen Bagh of Delhi, a group of deployed police officers | Delhi News


NEW DELHI: Delhi police on Sunday imposed prohibitive orders in the Shaheen Bagh area in southeast Delhi and deployed a large number of security personnel in the area.

A senior police officer said it was precautionary measures.

Shaheen Bagh has been the epicenter of the protest against the Citizenship Law (Amendment), in which women and men have organized a sitting on a road since December 15 of last year.

Police said Section 144 of the Code of Criminal Procedure was imposed in the Shaheen Bagh area, near Jamia Millia Islamia.

Section 144 empowers an executive magistrate to issue orders in the event of annoyance or danger to public peace. Although its scope is broader, the Section is often used to prohibit the assembly of five or more people when disturbances are anticipated.

The strong police deployment occurs following a call from a right-wing group, Hindu Sena, to clear the path of Shaheen Bagh on March 1. Since then, Sena has suspended her protest proposal against the anti-CAA agitation in Shaheen Bagh after police intervened on Saturday.

The joint police commissioner, Devesh Chandra Srivastava, said police deployment and prohibitive restrictions were precautionary measures. “The heavy police deployment in Shaheen Bagh is a precautionary measure. Our goal is to maintain law and order and avoid any adverse incident,” said Srivastava.

The Delhi Police movement occurs in the context of violence in northeastern Delhi that resulted in the deaths of 41 people and injuries to more than 200 people.

Hundreds of men and women, some in ‘burqas’ and many accompanied by children, have occupied a stretch of almost one km of a six-lane road that passes through Shaheen Bagh to connect Delhi and neighboring Noida in Uttar Pradesh to protest against the New citizenship law. and a proposal to register citizens that has taken hundreds of thousands of people to the streets of India.

Violent demonstrations have rocked the country since December 12 after Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government enacted the Citizenship (Amendment) Act (CAA), which aims to grant citizenship to six non-Muslim minorities: Hindus, Sikh, Pari, Jainists, Christians and Buddhist: who emigrated to India on December 31, 2014 or earlier from Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Original source