|  | 


India squad for New Zealand ODI: Prithvi Shaw returns to the test squad; Mayank Agarwal replaces Rohit Sharma in ODI | Cricket News


NEW DELHI: Mayank Agarwal will replace the injured Rohit Sharma in the 3-game ODI series in New Zealand. Meanwhile, Prithvi Shaw returns to the Tests when the Cricket Control Board in India (BCCI) announced the replacements and the Test squad on Tuesday.

Along with Prithvi Shaw, Navdeep Saini has also been included in the red ball cricket team.

Ishant Sharma, who is currently recovering from an ankle injury, has also been named in the 16-man test squad, but his inclusion will be subject to a fitness authorization.

The calf injury that Rohit Sharma suffered in the fifth International T20 against New Zealand on Sunday ruled him out of the rest of the tour.

“Rohit suffered a muscle strain in his left calf during the fifth T20I against New Zealand in Tauranga on Sunday. He underwent an MRI in Hamilton on Monday. The opening batter was ruled out of the next ODI and Test series and will be referred to the National Cricket Academy for greater management of your injury, “the BCCI statement said.

“The senior selection committee appointed Mayank Agarwal in the ODI squad as a replacement for Rohit.”

On the other hand, Shaw, who was suspended for 8 months for a doping violation, returned to the test team after some excellent performances in the national season.

Shaw last played in the Test series against West Indies in 2018 at home, which was also his debut series.

Shubman Gill, who recently scored a double ton against New Zealand A also finds a place in the test squad.

Pacer Saini has also made his way on the Test side after impressive cricket performances of limited overs. Saini had received his first test call for the single test against Afghanistan in 2018, but has not yet made his debut. However, he went on to play three ODI and 10 T20 for India.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah also returned to the test team after missing all season at home due to a stress fracture.

Kuldeep Yadav, who did not reach eleven in the five T20 against New Zealand, was removed from the test team with selectors who chose two spinner options specializing in Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin.

The 3-match ODI series begins in Hamilton on Wednesday.

India ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navrdep Saini Saini Thakur, Kedar Jadhav

The two-test series begins in Wellington on February 21.

Indian test squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umes Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness authorization)

Times of India