|  |  | 

India Top Headlines

BJP loses RSS Nagpur stronghold, four other Parishads zilla in Maharashtra News – Nagpur


NAGPUR: The Congress-Nationalist Party (NCP) combines by delivering a humiliating defeat to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the elections to the prestigious Nagpur Zilla Parishad – the territory of opposition leader Devendra Fadnavis and the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) – officials said here on Wednesday.

In addition to Nagpur, the BJP was defeated in Palghar, Nandurbar and Washim, was neck-to-neck with Congress in Dhule, while Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) seized the surprise control of Akola Zilla Parishad (ZP).

Of the 332 seats for which the vote was held on six ZPs, the BJP was segged 103, Congress 73, nCP 46, Shiv Sena 49, VBA 42, while independents and others won 14 seats.

In the 58-seat Nagpur ZP for which the polls were conducted, Congress embed 30, the NCP 10, while the BJP won only 15 seats.

The ruling ally Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) Shiv Sena chose to play alone in Nagpur ZP and had to content himself with a single seat, while two seats were won by independents and others in this prestigious local body.

In 57-seat Palghar ZP, the Seine won 18, NCP 14 and BJP 12, while five seats went to CPI(M), three to Independents. Congress only seeded one seat.

However, the BJP had reason to smile at Dhule, where of the 56 seats, he secured 39, followed by Congress at seven, Seine four and NCP three, in addition to three Independents.

In Nandurbar, there was a neck-to-neck fight for the 56 seats in which BJP and Congress won 23 each, Sena seven and NCP three.

The BJP suffered a jolt at Washim ZP where of a total of 52 seats, the party won only seven, NCP pocketed 12, Congress Nine, Seine Six, VBA 15 while the Independents pocketed three seats.

The VBA, which had not opened its account in the elections of Lok Sabha and the 2019 Assembly, has pocketed the 53-seat ZP Akola zP with 22 seats, followed by Sena in 13 seats, Four nCP, Congress Three and independent four.

The elections for the 58 seats of Zilla Parishad and 116 Panchayat Samitis were held on 7 January and the results were declared on Wednesday.

Even in the six Panchayat Samiti (PS) polls, there was a shock for the BJP that embedded only 194 of the total 664 seats for which elections were held.

Congress seized a handsome 145 seats, Shiv Seina 117, NCP 80, VBA 78, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena by Raj Thackeray Dos, CPI(M) 12, CPI One, Independents and 34 others.

Among the highlights was Mahendra Dongre of Congress winning the seat in Dhapewada – the native village of Union Minister Nitin Gadkari.

Congressional Nana Kambale dealt another blow by bagging the Koradi seat, the hometown of former BJP minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule.

Salil A. Deshmukh, the son of the PNC’s Minister of the Interior, Anil Deshmukh, won from Metpanjara, while another son of former PNV minister Ramesh Bang, Dinesh R. Bang, bagged Hingna’s seat.

Nagpur’s ZP and several other local agencies were under the control of the BJP-Sena when they were allies, until the Seine joined the MVA with Congress-NCP in November 2019.

The BJP’s defeats came despite a high-profile campaign launched by a drummer of top-tier state leaders for all of these civic bodies.

Original source