|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

CLT20 : CSK are champions for the second time (Scorecard)

Oct 5 () : Chennai Super Kings (CSK) lifted the Champions League T20 (CLT20) trophy for the second time, defeating current IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 8 wickets at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

Dhoni might have rued his decision of asking KKR to bat first as the opening pair of Uthappa and Gambhir added 90 for the first wicket of which 89 were scored in the first 10 overs. The beauty of the partnership was the exceptional rotation of strike by both players as they scored 42 runs via singles and twos between them. Just when it looked like CSK were on the way to their second final loss to the KKR in 2014, Negi lured Uthappa down the pitch and beat him in the flight with Dhoni doing the rest.

Negi was denied the wicket of Kallis in the very next delivery as Raina dropped him at first slip, but had him caught by Nehra in his very next over.  Gambhir in the mean time, scored his 50 off just 34 deliveries. The two quick wickets helped CSK pull back the run rate as the overs between 10 and 15 yielded only 29 runs.

Gambhir took Bravo to the cleaners in the 16th scoring 18 of the over but Jadeja , who bowled exceptionally well, had him top edge a delivery which was well caught by McCullum. The 18th over of the innings was a massacre, as Pandey hit Nehra for 20 runs with included 2 huge sixes.

Then it was the ”Negi Show” as he dismissed the dangerous Pandey caught by McCullum and had RN ten Doeschate stumped off a wide for nought. He further added misery to KKR by dismissing SA Yadav for a duck in the 5th delivery of the over. Three quick top order wickets in a single over was too much to come out of, but KKR just did that as Yusuf Pathan scored 19 runs with the help of 2 boundaries and a six in the final over bowled by Nehra leaving CSK 181 to win the trophy for the second time.

CSK lost Smith in the very first over and it was Raina and McCullum all the way as both batsmen gave KKR a taste of their own medicine by building a huge partnership which shut KKR off the match. The pair helped CSK score 60 of the power play overs helped by two sixes off Chawla by Raina. After a 90 early in the tournament, the highest scorer in IPL, Raina, was in complete control of the innings as he scored his 50 off just 27 deliveries with the help of 4 sixes.

Raina was in full flow as he hit Kuldeep Yadav for 2 sixes in the 13th over by which the 100 of the partnership had been achieved. Pathan finally got the break through as he had McCullum caught for 39. On the other end Raina was not in a mood to miss out on a century as he hit sixes at free will. He finally got his well deserved century in 59 deliveries with the help of six boundaries and 7 sixes.

Dhoni hit the final nail in the coffin as he hit Pathan over the rope, twice, in the 19th over to help CSK win the match and the trophy with 9 balls to spare.


KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS innings (20 overs maximum) R B 4s 6s SR
View dismissal RV Uthappa st †Dhoni b Negi 39 32 4 1 121.87
View dismissal G Gambhir* c McCullum b Jadeja 80 52 7 3 153.84
View dismissal JH Kallis c Nehra b Negi 1 4 0 0 25.00
View dismissal MK Pandey c McCullum b Negi 32 19 2 2 168.42
YK Pathan not out 20 9 2 1 222.22
View dismissal RN ten Doeschate st †Dhoni b Negi 0 1 0 0 0.00
View dismissal SA Yadav c Nehra b Negi 0 2 0 0 0.00
AD Russell not out 2 2 0 0 100.00
Extras (lb 2, w 3, nb 1) 6
Total (6 wickets; 20 overs) 180 (9.00 runs per over)
Bowling O M R W Econ
A Nehra 4 0 54 0 13.50 (1nb)
MM Sharma 3 0 27 0 9.00 (1w)
R Ashwin 3 0 26 0 8.66
View wickets P Negi 4 0 22 5 5.50 (1w)
View wicket RA Jadeja 4 0 25 1 6.25
DJ Bravo 2 0 24 0 12.00 (1w)
CHENNAI SUPER KINGS innings (target: 181 runs from 20 overs) R B 4s 6s SR
View dismissal DR Smith b Cummins 8 5 2 0 160.00
View dismissal BB McCullum c ten Doeschate b Pathan 39 30 4 1 130.00
SK Raina not out 109 62 6 8 175.80
MS Dhoni*† not out 23 14 1 2 164.28
Extras (lb 2, w 4) 6
Total (2 wickets; 18.3 overs) 185 (10.00 runs per over)
Bowling O M R W Econ
View wicket PJ Cummins 3 0 32 1 10.66 (2w)
AD Russell 2 0 14 0 7.00
Kuldeep Yadav 4 0 44 0 11.00
PP Chawla 3 0 38 0 12.66
SA Yadav 3 0 21 0 7.00
View wicket YK Pathan 3.3 0 34 1 9.71 (2w)

 Scorecard Courtesy : espncricinfo.com