|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

Netherlands thrash New Zealand 7-2 to win inaugural Hockey World League final

New Delhi, Jan 19 (): The Netherlands thrashed New Zealand 7-2 in the final to win maiden Hero Hockey World League title at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi on Saturday.

Pressure was put on New Zealand defence in the last 15 minutes by the Netherlands in the first half through winning two penalty corners. In 23rd minute, they doubled their lead through field goal of Billy Bakker as New Zealand struggled to cope with the aggressiveness of the Dutch attack.

The scores were 3-0, with Netherlands leading at the stroke of half time when Jonkers (35th) deflected a hit from the midfield into New Zealand goal. The second half got off to a brilliant start as the Netherlands extended their lead through Bob de Voogd (36th).

New Zealand’s Steve Edwards (37th) pulled one back with a field strike to make the scoreline 4-1. The game continued with long passes to enter opposition defence, but again it was the Netherlands’ Rogier Hofman (45th), who took the field goal to take the match beyond New Zealand’s reach.

New Zealand’s last win over the Netherlands was a 3-1 victory at the Champions Trophy in Germany four years ago.

The International Hockey Federation’s (FIH) newest competition Hockey World League started with 54 teams in August 2012. After three rounds played around the world, the top seven combined hosts India for the title round in New Delhi.

England took third place with a 2-1 win over Australia earlier on Saturday. Belgium finished fifth after beating India 2-1, while Olympic champions Germany ended in seventh place after a 2-1 win against Argentina.

The FIH has named German midfielder Tobias Hauke as the player of the year for 2013.

Other awards

Player of the Tournament: Robbert Kempermann (Ned)
Goalkeeper: George Pinner (Eng)