|  |  |  | 

Entertainment Exclusive News

Indian Of The Year 2013 awards : Deepika Padukone, Kapil Sharma honoured

Mumbai, Dec 25 (): Standup comedian Kapil Sharma and Bollywood actress Deepika Padukone have been honoured with CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2013 award for their corresponding contribution in the field of entertainment.

Over 11 Indians from the field of sports, politics, entertainment, business and public service categories were honoured with Indian of the Year award.

Kapil Sharma has been honoured with CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2013 in the Entertainment category. He is currently one of the most popular stand-up comedians in India. He was the winner of the ‘The Great Indian Laughter Challenge 3’ and currently hosts his own show ‘Comedy Nights with Kapil’, which has won him nationwide applause and reception.

He has hosted countless number of award ceremonies and TV shows. His ability to find humour in any situation and quick wit makes him one of the most popular and unique and comedians in the industry today.

Whereas, Bollywood actress Deepika Padukone has been honoured with CNN-IBN Indian of the Year award 2013 in the Special Achievement category. She has become one of the most popular actresses in Bollywood. From her last year’s release ‘Cocktail’, the actress has been giving repeated hits after hits with ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’, ‘Chennai Express’ etc.

Most of her recent films have become box office hits and have entered the elite 100 crore club. Not only all her films were box-office friendly hits, she has also made her presence felt in each of the hits, giving an enduring performances in all her movies.

When Bollywood’s history is written, Deepika Padukone will be counted as Bollywood’s first leading lady to have scored as many as four back to back 100-crore hits in the same year.

Others award winners include Arvind Kejriwal (Politics), PV Sindhu (Sports), Rajiv Bajaj (Business), Leander Paes (Outstanding Achievement), Ramakant Achrekar (Outstanding Achievement) and Late Justice J. S. Verma (Lifetime Achievement).