|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

India vs Australia 3rd ODI, Mohali – Preview

Mohali, Oct 19 (): India would take on Australia in the 3rd ODI match of the Australia tour of India 2013 on October 19, Saturday at 14:30 local Time (09:00 GMT) at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali.

3rd ODI: India v Australia at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali on Oct 19, 2013 (14:30 local | 09:00 GMT)

This match is the third ODI to be played between India and Australia. India and Australia won one match each in the earlier two matches.


The hosts had whitewashed Australia 4-0 in the February-March Test and won the only T20 match against Australia a few days back. After losing the first ODI, India bounced back in the second match chasing a mammoth total of Australia’s 359 with ease with six overs to spare. 

Paceman Ishant Sharma and spinner R Aswhin were carted around by the Australians in the ODIs and bowling was a major worry for Indian skipper MS Dhoni. However, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and R Vinay Kumar picked up a few wickets.  

Shikhar Dhawan who had a reasonable outing in the Champions League T20, just missed his ton in the last ODI but in good touch. Virat Kohli, 52-ball-100 had everything like skill and power along with opener Rohit Sharma, who made 141; they will show the confidence of Indians in batting strength. Yuvraj Singh is in good form in T20 and will support the Indian batting line up with skipper Dhoni and Raina.

India Squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Jaydev Unadkat and Mohd. Shami.


Aaron Finch, who had an excellent show in T20 and in the two ODIs will be a great worry for Indian bowlers. Bailey would bank on him to continue his good run of form. Phil Hughes has given good support to Finch in both the games. 

Watson is the most experienced player and he also knows conditions well. The huge setback for Australian is they don’t have an effective spinner in their attack and have to depend only on fast bowlers.

Australia Squad: George Bailey (captain), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Callum Ferguson, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson.