|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

India Vs Australia T20 Preview

Rajkot, Oct 10 (): The only T20 match and seven ODI matches against Australia kicks off India’s home international series from today. The first match of the series and the only T20 match will be played at the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) stadium in Kandheri, near Rajkot.

The meteorological department forecast of heavy downpour till Thursday could be a dampener for the play.


The most successful captain of all format crickets, MS Dhoni, who hammered Thissara Perera of Sunrisers Hyderabad for five sixes in CLT20 showing good form, can handle any type of situation. The newly formed openers Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma who have shown some good opening stand in recent matches is expected to repeat the same.

Suresh Raina was impressive in the Champions League T20 who will be supported by Virat Kohli and a comeback hard-hitting batsman Yuvraj Singh in the middle of the innings. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is another key player to watch.

In bowling, paceman  Bhuvneshwar Kumar, wicket taking bowler  can swing the ball and trouble the Australian batsmen in the initial overs. Other pacemen like Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar and Shami Ahmed are looking good from the other end. Spinners Ashwin and Amit Mishra are very successful in Indian pitches. All-rounders like Jadeja, Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina are the options Dhoni can fill in the remaining overs.

India Squad: MS Dhoni (captain), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Bhuvenshwar Kumar, Yuvraj Singh, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, R Vinay Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Ambati Rayudu, Jaydev Unadkat.


Aaron Finch who scored 156 against England in T20 in good form will be a great threat to Indian bowlers. Shane Watson, clean striker of the ball is well-adjusted to Indian pitches after playing IPL. Skipper George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner and Mitchell Johnson are threats under any conditions. The Australian team with Indian Premier League experience and with Coach Steve Rixon will be a tough team to beat in the Indian soil.

Australia Squad: George Bailey(c), Brad Haddin(w), Shane Watson, Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Voges, Xavier Doherty, Mitchell Johnson, James Faulkner, Moises Henriques, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Clint McKay, Nic Maddinson

India and Australia have met in seven previous T20 games, with Australia holding a better record at 4-3.