|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

Sachin Tendulkar to be honoured by SJAM on Sep 8

Mumbai, Sep 4 (): Senior India cricketer Sachin Tendulkar will be awarded by the Sports Journalists’ Association of Mumbai (SJAM) on Sunday for his remarkable achievement of scoring 100 international centuries.

The Master Blaster batsman Sachin Tendulkar will be given the special ‘Century of Centuries Award’ by SJAM. The awards function will be held at the C.K. Nayudu Hall, Cricket Club of India (CCI) here on Sunday, September 8. Badminton legend Nandu Natekar will be the chief guest.

Tendulkar became the first player to score 100 tons in the international cricket after scoring a ton in his 49th in One-day Internationals, against Bangladesh in the Asia Cup in March, 2012.

Apart from Tendulkar, Merzban Patel has been selected for the Lifetime Achievement Award for unearthing hockey talent in the city for nearly four decades. Other players winning awards are Rahi Sarnobat (shooting), Aditya Mehta (snooker), Mahesh Mangaonkar (squash), Deepika Henry Joseph (kabaddi), Tanvi Lad (badminton), cricketers Punam Raut, Abhishek Nayar, Arman Jaffer and the Mumbai Ranji Trophy team.

At the awards function, Jagar Maharashtracha, a collection highlighting the sports scene in Maharashtra, will also be released. Special speeches will be given by Grandmaster Pravin Thipsay and Dronacharya award winner Raghunandan Gokhale on the upcoming FIDE World Championship final between Viswanathan Anand and Magnus Carlsen.

Indian Oil, D.Y. Patil Sports Academy, Shivaji Park Youngsters and Percept Sports and Entertainment are supporting the function.

Here is the list of award winners

Special award for Century of Centuries in international cricket : Sachin Tendulkar
Lifetime achievement award: Merzban Patel (Hockey)
Best sportsman: Aditya Mehta (Snooker)
Best sportswoman: Rahi Sarnobat (Shooting)
Best junior sportsman: Mahesh Mangaonkar (Squash)
Best junior sportswoman: Tanvi Lad (Badminton)
Best sportsperson (Indian games): Deepika Henry Joseph (Kabaddi)
Cricketer of the season (male): Abhishek Nayar
Cricketer of the season year (female): Punam Raut
Junior cricketer of the year: Arman Jaffer
Best team of the season: Mumbai Ranji Trophy Team