|  |  |  |  | 

Exclusive National News Top Headlines

Meira Kumar suspends 12 MPs over disruption of House on Telangana

New Delhi, Aug 24 (): Holding twelve MPs guilty, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Friday suspended MPs belonging to Congress and the TDP MP from Andhra Pradesh for five days for causing disruption to the house. Initiating disciplinary action against the twelve MPs, Speaker Meira Kumar announced the names of the suspended MPs, taking strict action for creating uproar before adjourning the house proceedings till Saturday morning.

As per House procedure norms, grave disorder created by a member coming into the well of the House or violating the rules of the House vigorously and deliberately by blocking its business by shouting slogans leads to automatic suspension.

The list of names delivered by the Speaker includes Anantha Venkatrami Reddy, Savarshri A Sai Prathap, L Raja Gopal , V Aruna Kumar, Magunta Sreenivasulu Reddy, GV Harsha Kumarm,  Sabbam Hari and Bapi Raju Kanumuru from the Congress party  and Nimalla Kristappa, Konakalla, Modugula Venugopal Reddy , Nirmalalli Sivaprasad and Konakalla Narayan Rao from the TDP.

The members were said to be shouting slogans demanding ‘justice for Seemandhra’ representing coastal Andhra and Rayalseema. While the Lok Sabha is expected to function on Saturday to speak on the Food Security Bill, Rajya Sabha will have no sitting as it has no pending business to carry out, said sources.

Meanwhile, raising the issue on Telangana, TDP leader Y S Chowdhary expressed concern over the government and demanded a Joint Parliamentary Committee be set up to look into Telangana issue. Chowdhary further regretted saying that the government lacks response even after the constitutional set up in Andhra Pradesh is heading towards a failure. “The government is not even making an attempt to resolve the issue,” said the TDP member.

Protesting against the decision to establish a Telangana state, Telugu Desam Party leader N Harikrishna(son of late N T Rama Rao) tendered his resignation from the Rajya Sabha earlier on Thursday. When the announcement on the resignation of the TDP member was being read out by Deputy Chairman P J Kurien in the upper house, Chowdhary and CM Ramesh created uproar over the matter, said sources.