|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News World

Pakistan to hold Presidential election on August 6

Islamabad, July 17 (): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday issued the schedule for the presidential election, fixing August 6 for voting to elect the 12th head of the state.

The country’s election commission has said that candidates can submit their nomination papers until July 24 while the scrutiny process would take place on July 26. The statement further said that the nomination papers could be withdrawn on July 29. The presidential elections would be held on August 6 while results would be announced on August 7, the sources added.

Candidates will have the option of withdrawal of their papers before the Returning Officer (Chief Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Fakhruddin G Ebrahim) on July 29 and the final list of candidates would be published the same day.

Polling for the presidential election would be held at the Parliament House in Islamabad and at four provincial assemblies in Lahore‚ Karachi‚ Quetta and Peshawar from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

The election commission said a proposed schedule of the presidential poll was sent to CEC Jutice (r) Fakhruddin G. Ebrahim, who gave final approval.

According to the current strength of political parties in the national and provincial assemblies, the nominee of the ruling PML-N of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif will easily win the election.

Sources said, the ECP implemented Article 41 of the constitution for the first time in Pakistan which states the process of electing a president must begin at least 2 months, and elections to be conducted a month before the end of the President’s term.

The last day in office for President Asif Ali Zardari is scheduled for September 8, 2013. His spokesperson Senator Farhatullah Babar said President Zardari will not contest the next presidential election.

Pakistan held a parliamentary election in May last. President Zardari’s party, the Pakistan People’s Party, suffered a heavy defeat in the election. The big winner in the election was the Pakistan Muslim League-N, led by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

The position of president in Pakistan became largely ceremonial after a constitutional amendment in 2010 transferred significant power to the prime minister.