|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

Tri-series Final Preview : India vs Sri Lanka

Port of Spain, July 11 (): In the final match of the of the Celkon Mobile Cup Tri-nation series played at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad, India will face Sri Lanka on Thursday, July 11, at 19:00 IST.

Points Table

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR
India 4 2 2 0 0 10 +0.054
Sri Lanka 4 2 2 0 0 9 +0.348
West Indies 4 2 2 0 0 9 -0.383


India has stormed into the final of Celkon Mobile Cup tri-series with an 81-run victory (Duckworth/Lewis method) over Sri Lanka in the last league match here on Tuesday (July 9).

India topped the points table with 10 points while Sri Lanka pushed back West Indies and reached the final spot on better net run rate as both teams were tied with 9 points each.

The inclusion of Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the final is a bonus to India. The bowling line-up of India has been impressive. Bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma have been playing good roles and have picked up valuable wickets in the previous games.

The spin duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin have done a lot at the Queen’s Park Oval. Kohli has given the duo attacking fields and encouraged them to go for wickets.

Squad India: Virat Kohli (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, might be bit tired after playing continuously for three days. Their batting collapsed continuously against India. No top-order batsman performed well and in the end 96 all out was a morale-shattering performance.

Batsman Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara have had their share of success against India in the past and it will be crucial from the islanders` point of view that the two veterans click for the team.

Squad Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Kusal Perera, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Mahela Jayawardene, Jeevan Mendis, Ajantha Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Dilhara Lokuhettige and Shaminda Eranga.