|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

ICC Champions Trophy, June 8, match 3 preview : England vs Australia

Birmingham, June 7 (): England and Australia are all set to take on each other in Group A encounter of the Champions Trophy on June 8, Saturday in Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Two time CT champions Australia is bidding for a third straight Champions Trophy crown. Captain Michael Clarke, the 32-year-old batsman is doubtful for the match after getting a long standing back problem upon arriving in the United Kingdom.

In his absence, vice-captain George Bailey will lead the team and it appears as if he might have to captain the side for more than one game.

Shane Watson had a good run in the Indian Premier League and then there is Mitchell Marsh, who scored a 19 ball-39 against the Caribbean side in the practise game. However, the failure of the rest of the batsmen in both the practice games coupled with the absence of Clarke, is a warning signal for the team.

In the bowling department, Clint McKay and Mitchell Starc have done their best, while Watson has had a couple of useful outings with the ball. In both the warm-up games, Xavier Doherty and Glenn Maxwell did not play, while Australia selected Adam Voges in one of those matches.

Team Australia: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson, David Warner, Phil Hughes, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Glenn Maxwell, Michael Clarke.


England has the top-order trio of Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott and Alastair Cook with the likes of Jos Buttler and Joe Root is expected to do solid starts.

The bowling line-up is impressive with the formidable pace trio of Steven Finn, Stuart Broad and James Anderson ably supported by skilful spinner Graeme Swann.

Team England : Alastair Cook (captain), Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, James Tredwell, Steven Finn, Chris Woakes, James Anderson, Graeme Swann.