|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

ICC Champions Trophy, June 7, match 2 preview : Pakistan vs West Indies

London, June 7 (): The West Indies and Pakistan face in their Champions Trophy campaign on June 7, Friday at The Oval.


Pakistan being three time semi-finalists (2000, 2004 and 2009) are yet to win the trophy and would be keen on creating history.

The team has two most aggressive bowlers Saeed Ajmal and Mohammad Irfan. In the present team, Imran Farhat, Nasir Jamshed and Mohammad Hafeez form a consistent top order and given a good start in the last few matches.

But, Shahid Afridi and Younus Khan have been dropped, while Umar Gul is injured. Their bowling attack has three left-arm pacers, including the 7′ 1″ tall Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan and Wahab Riaz. The two right-armers are Asad Ali and Ehsan Adil.

Team Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan, M. Irfan, Asad Ali, Wahab Riaz, Umer Amin, Abdul Rehman, Ehsan Adil.

West Indies:

The Caribbean team has won the title in 2004 and has finished runners-up in 1998 and 2006. West Indies is an extremely dangerous and a very good team.

The batting side of West Indies has Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Kieron Pollard, Kemar Roach and Sunil Narine – who all make the team strong. Chris Gayle has an aggregate of 695 in Champions Trophy matches, which is the highest among all batsmen.

Captain Dwayne Bravo and batsmen Marlon Samuels, Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard all provide alternative options in the bowling department.

Spinner Sunil Narine looks certain to play as he is the top-ranked bowler in the world in the 50-over format.

Pacer Jason Holder, the youngest in the team is 6’8″ tall and could prove to be a decisive factor in the seaming conditions with his medium pace.

Team West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Denesh Ramdin, Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.