|  |  |  | 

Entertainment Exclusive News

Cannes Film Festival 2013 : Vidya Balan sports desi look

Mumbai, May 15 (): Bollywood actress Vidya Balan, who is the jury member at the 66th Cannes film festival, arrived at the French Riviera. Making her debut at the Film Festival, the actress surprised the people in her desi look.

The 66th Cannes Film festival kicked off on French Riviera on May 15. Vidya Balan was dressed in desi style, while attending her first official appearance at a cocktail party at the Martinez Hotel.

The actress looked graceful in her maroon Sabyasachi lehenga with pretty jhumkis. Vidya had earlier told reporters that she will be wearing saris and Indian outfits to walk the red carpet of Cannes.

Balan told media recently at the official launch of Indian Film Festival of Melbourne that she felt too happy to get that opportunity of watching films from all over the world and be able to interact with various team juries.

Beyond all her excitement, she also talked about the outfit she will be wearing at the event. The award winning actress said that about going to Cannes, the most celebrated festival of the world, she was not thinking so much of her wardrobe. She assured that she would be seen in a saree, as even in her sleep she saw her in saree.

Apart from Vidya Balan, actress cum film maker Nandita Das is also part of a separate jury for short films. Director Shekhar Kapur has previously been a part of Cannes jury. Other Indian personalities who have been in the jury panel at Cannes:

Filmmaker Mira Nair: 1990
Author Arundhati Roy: 2000
Bollywood actress Aishwarya Rai : 2003
Activist and actress Nandita Das: 2005
Actress Sharmila Tagore 2009
Vidya Balan: 2013, Nandita Das (short films): 2013

The other names on the jury panel are Japanese director Naomi Kawase, British scriptwriter-director-producer Lynne Ramsay, French actor-director Daniel Auteuil, Taiwanese director-producer-scriptwriter Ang Lee, Romanian scriptwriter-director-producer Cristian Mungiu and Austrian actor Christopher Waltz. The jury will select films in competition section for the awards, which will be announced during the closing ceremony on May 26.