|  |  |  |  | 

National News Sourced Wired

Karnataka polls: Will sit in Opposition, says JD-S leader Kumaraswamy

Bangalore, May 8 (ANI): After the Janata Dal-Secular emerged as the second biggest winner in the Karnataka elections, its leader and former state chief minister H D Kumaraswamy on Wednesday said his party is ready to sit in the opposition and protect the interests of the people of state.

“We are going to sit in the opposition and work in the interest of the people,” Kumaraswamy told media here.

“If people bless us to sit in the Opposition then we will do that… to safeguard the interests of the people,” he added.

Kumaraswamy further claimed that the media influenced voters to go in favour of the Congress.

As per the latest trends, the Congress was set to return to power in Karnataka, with its candidates winning 10 seats and leading in 105 seats.

While the ruling BJP has been pushed to the third spot, leading only in 35 seats. The Janata Dal-Secular is leading in 42 seats.

As per the latest trends, the Karnataka Janatha Paksha, which is led by former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa, is leading in 11 seats.

Counting of votes for the Karnataka Assembly elections, which witnessed a 70.23 per cent voter turnout on May 5, began this morning at 8 a.m. amidst tight security.

The results of the vote count will decide who will occupy each of the 223 seats up for grabs in the state assembly.

For the Congress, it is a day of high anxiety, when a possible triumph for the party in Karnataka could be offset by a possible embarrassment in the Supreme Court which will be hearing the Central Bureau of Investigation’s (CBI’s) fresh affidavit on the coal block allocation case.

Congress leaders are hoping to get some respite from the apex court and a Karnataka win, which would help the party give a positive political spin to their strategy for the 2014 general elections.

From the BJP’s point of view, a loss would force it rejig political strategy and probably move away from its single point agenda of highlighting the graft of the Congress.

In the 2008 elections, BJP secured 110 seats, three short of majority and formed the government with the help of five independents who were made ministers. Congress bagged 80 seats and JD-S 28. The overall voter turnout then was 64.91 per cent. (ANI)