|  |  |  |  | 

News Sourced Sports Wired

Bravo to lead Caribbeans in Champions Trophy

Melbourne, May 5 (ANI): West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been chosen to lead his side for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy, replacing Darren Sammy who stays in charge of the Test and Twenty20 squads.

Bravo, who took over from Sammy for the three-match whitewash of Zimbabwe in the Caribbean this year, leads a 15-man squad for the June 6-23 tournament in England, the Herald Sun reports.

According to the chairman of the selection panel Clyde Butts, Bravo is an experienced, seasoned and senior cricketer who has demonstrated leadership qualities, adding that it is necessary to freshen the leadership of the team in the ODI format as the results in this format have not been as strong as expected.

However, Butts praised Sammy, saying that he deserves every kudos for the work he has done in leading and moulding the team in the Test and the T20 formats, which, he added, have shown consistent improvement.

Bravo, made his ODI debut in 2004 and has played 137 matches, scoring 2311 runs and taking 160 wickets, said that he is honoured to have been appointed the captain for the eight-nation tournament.

Congratulating Bravo, Sammy said that he would give the new captain his full support, adding that Bravo can be assured of his unwavering commitment to the team and their plans to be champions of one-day cricket.

According to the report, Kieran Powell was not considered for selection due to a finger injury.

The West Indies is in Group B at the Champions Trophy along with India, South Africa and Pakistan, the report added.

The squad: Bravo (captain), Denesh Ramdin, Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Devon Smith. (ANI)