|  |  |  |  | 

Chennai Exclusive News Regional

Tamil Nadu govt passes resolution to reclaim Katchatheevu

Chennai, May 4 (): Tamil Nadu assembly on Friday passed a resolution demanding the Centre to reclaim the administrative control over Kachchatheevu island and surrounding areas, that was surrendered to Sri Lanka years ago.

The state government took the decision reinforcing its demand against Sri Lanka for its continued attack on Tamil Nadu fishermen for the past two months in which more than thirty fishermen were arrested by the Lankan Navy.

Passing the resolution, the second one to be adopted by the House, Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa insisted the centre to seize control on Kachchatheevu, since she claimed the reason behind coming to power of the AIADMK was mainly to support the cause of its fishermen.

Stating that in the last two months, more than thirty Tamil Nadu fishermen have been arrested and attacked by the Lankan Navy and are suffering in the Lanka jail, Jayalalithaa urged the Congress at the centre that in a situation like this her government has no other option but to seek control of Kachchatheevu island to protect the cause of the Tamil fishermen. She also claimed that five more fishermen have been suffering in the Lankan prison for the past one year.

Taking a pot shot on DMK chief M. Karunanidhi, the state Chief Minister accused him for betraying the people on the issue of Kachchatheevu, as she claimed that the transfer of the island to the neighboring country was done with the knowledge of the DMK. Jayalailthaa blamed Karunanidhi saying that the present situation of the state fishermen facing problems was due to his dual stand on Kachchatheevu issue.

Repeating her attack on the DMK chief, Jayalalithaa said, “Except this one month, since 1996, Karunanidhi had been supporting the central government on various issues, but did nothing to  regain Kachchatheevu.”

The resolution was passed unanimously, in which Speaker P. Dhanapal and Aslam Basha (MMK), M. Arumugham (CPI), J.G. Prince (Cong), Panruti Ramachandran (DMDK) and Soundararajan (CPM) also spoke supporting the resolution.