|  |  |  |  |  | 

National News Sourced Top Headlines Wired

President Mukherjee confers Padma awards

New Delhi, Apr 20 (ANI): President Pranab Mukherjee on Saturday conferred the Padma awards on several eminent personalities including industrialist Adi Godrej, Olympic medal winners Yogeshwar Dutt and Vijay Kumar.

Professor Roddam Narasimha, a internationally renowned expert on fluid dynamics and famous painter Sayed Haider Raza were given the prestigious Padma Vibhushan at a glittering ceremony held here at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Bollywood actor Rajesh Khanna and social satirist Jaspal Singh Bhatti were honoured with Padma Bhushan posthumously.

Renowned scientist Dr. A Sivathanu Pillai and Bharatnatyam exponent Dr. Saroja Vaidyanathan were also among the Padma Bhushan recipients.

Bollywood film maker Ramesh Sippy, actor Nana Patekar, eminent cardio surgeon Dr. Ganesh Kumar Mani, Kashmiri classical musician Ustad Ghulam Mohammed Saznawaz were conferred with the Padma Shree Awards.

Noted designer Ritu Kumar, Urdu poet and lyricist Nida Fazli were also among the Padma Shri awardees honoured during the second investiture ceremony held today.

Anthropology professor Christopher Pinney and Sufi musician Ustad Ghulam Saznawaz too received their Padma Shri from Mukherjee. (ANI)