|  |  |  |  | 

Exclusive Headlines News Sports

Sri Lanka players not to play in Chennai IPL matches

Chennai, Mar 27 ():Due to heavy political opposition for the Sri Lankan government in Tamil Nadu, the Governing Council of the Indian Premier League (IPL) decided to withdraw all the Sri Lankan players, umpires and officials of the IPL from the matches scheduled to play in Chennai.

Street protests and fasts are taking place in Tamil Nadu against Sri Lanka for killing of Tamil civilians in the war against LTTE in 2009.

The Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Jayalalithaa refused to host Sri Lankan cricketers in view of the prevailing tensions due to anti-Sri Lankan issues in the State. Also, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu wrote to the Prime Minister of India that the Government will not allow the participation of Sri Lankan players and officials in the matches scheduled to play in Chennai during IPL 2013.

She said “In such a hostile and tense environment, we apprehend that the participation of Sri Lankan players in the IPL tournament, with many games to be played in Chennai, will aggravate an already surcharged atmosphere and further offend the sentiments of the people”.

After the statement, IPL Governing Council discussed about the issue and decided that no Sri Lankan players and officials are allowed to participate in the games played in Chennai, thereby putting end to the issue.

Rajeev Shukla, the chairman of IPL said, “We decided that Sri Lankan players will not participate in the Pepsi IPL 2013 League matches in Chennai and all the nine franchises will be advised accordingly.”

The IPL 6, cash-rich Twenty20 league is scheduled to start in April 3. In the IPL 6 edition, a total number of 13 Sri Lankan players are participating and two of them are leading in their respective teams. Ten matches are scheduled to play in Chennai including two eliminators.

Nuwan Kulasekara and Akila Dananjaya are the members of the Chennai Super Kings squad and Kumar Sangakkara leads the new Sunrisers while Jayawardene leads Delhi Daredevils. The other Sri Lankan players are Jeevan Mendis, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Kusal Janith Perera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thisara Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Ajantha Mendis and Angelo Mathews.