|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

Rahul Dravid to play Twenty20 tournament for MCC in Dubai

New Delhi, Jan 24 (): Rahul Dravid, former Indian team captain, will play in a T20 tournament in March in Dubai as a participant for the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

Last year, Dravid retired from international cricket and has said he would play for MCC team that will meet Sussex 2011 County Champions Lancashire and Warwickshire in Emirates Airline T20 Trophy on March 21 and 22 at the Sevens Stadium in Dubai.

MCC said in a statement that Shaun Tait, Australian fast-bowler will play in the MCC’s Twenty20 side for second year running in the tournament.

The Emirates Airline Twenty20 tournament will be played before the Champion County game, which will held from March 24 to 27  for four days. Champion County game is a day-night match between Warwickshire and MCC. The matches will be played with a pink ball in Abu Dhabi at Zayed International Cricket Stadium.

Dale Benkenstein will be the captain of MCC in the Champion County fixture against Warwickshire in Abu Dhabi, while Rahul Dravid and Shaun Tait will play for the tournament.

The appearance of Dravid in this tournament will exactly mean he has played for MCC for three consecutive winters in the UAE, which included slashing a century for MCC in its win over Nottinghamshire in 2011 Champion County fixture.

Dravid appeared along with Sourav Ganguly, his fellow Indian player and his co-player at Rajasthan Royals, Tait in the Emirates Airline T20 the following year.

Dravid always has warm relations with the MCC — where the player is an Honorary Life Member — also being a member on the Club’s World Cricket committee. Last year, the 40-year-old got retired from the first-class and international cricket, but this year he is set for one another season with Rajasthan Royals in the sixth season of Indian Premier League.

MCC squad (two more to be added)

Dale Benkenstein (capt)
Jimmy Adams
Joe Denly
Rahul Dravid (T20 only)
Simon Kerrigan
Steve Kirby
Dawid Malan
Sam Northeast
Alan Richardson
Shaun Tait (T20 only)
Peter Trego