|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

CEAT Award winners : Virat Kohli bags Cricketer of the Year award

New Delhi, Jan 5 (): Young Indian batsman and vice-captain of India Virat Kohli has bagged the International Cricketer of the Year award at the CEAT International Cricket Awards function.

Pakistan bagged the Best International Cricket Team in the 2011-2012 season.

The awards are based on the CEAT Cricket Rating, which will reward and commend fresh talent of the sport.

Kohli was nominated for the Cricketer of the Year award along with Hashim Amla, Michael Clarke and Kumar Sangakkara. Kohli has a long list of achievements, he was the top run-score for India in both ODIs and Tests last year and he has scored 183 runs, which is his career-best, against Pakistan in the Asia Cup in March last year.

Kohli could not attend the event, so bowling legend and former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram collected the award on behalf of him.

Kapil gave the International Best Cricket Team award to Pakistan. He said the Pakistan cricket team deserves the award as they played good cricket. He praised the Pakistan team for giving an impressive performance in India. Legendary fast bowler Wasim Akram collected the award on behalf of the Pakistan team from Kapil Dev. He said it was a great honour for him.

Zaheer Abbas, former Pakistan captain was honoured with the Lifetime Award. CEAT Audience Choice Awards 2011-2012 went jointly to Indian opener Virender Sehwag and former Pakistan opener Saeed Anwar.

Sunil Gavaskar awarded the first-ever CEAT young Indian cricketer of the year award to India U-19 World Cup winning captain Unmukt Chand.

In the special India-Pakistan award category, former Pakistan skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq lifted the Best ODI Batsman award, while legendary Indian batsman Sunil Gavaskar was honoured with the Best Test Batsman trophy.

Former Pakistan captains Rameez Raja, Inzamam and Saeed Anwar along with Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Yashpal Sharma and Ajay Jadeja graced the grand occasion.

List of CEAT Award Winners

Virat Kohli         – International Cricketer of the Year award

Pakistan team   – Best International Cricket Team

Unmukt Chand – CEAT young Indian cricketer of the year award

Zaheer Abbas    – Lifetime achievement award

Virender Sehwag, Saeed Anwar – CEAT Audience Choice award

Inzamam-ul-Haq – Best ODI Batsman award

Sunil Gavaskar     – Best Test Batsman award

Kapil Dev              – Best Test bowler award

Wasim Akram      – Best ODI bowler award