|  |  |  |  | 

National News Sourced Wired

Mukherjee to inaugurate Indian Science Congress in Kolkata

Kolkata, Jan. 3 (ANI): President Pranab Mukherjee will inaugurate the Centenary Session of the Indian Science Congress at the Salt lake Stadium here on Thursday.

Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, West Bengal Governor M. K. Narayanan and Minister of Science and Technology Dr Jaipal Reddy will be present on the occasion.

The Centenary Session of Indian Science Congress is being organised from January 3 to 7 in University of Calcutta, Kolkata.

This is another historical occasion where the presiding Prime Minister of the country is the General President for the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA). Bose Institute and University of Calcutta are co-hosting the events being organized at Kolkata.

The five-day Science Congress will be attended by eminent scientists and academicians from all over the world.
The historical importance of 100th Science Congress is in more than one way. Whereas the themes for all the sessions up the period of 2003 since the first session in 1914 could be grouped under ‘Shaping of the Indian Science’, the focal theme selected for the centenary session is “Science for shaping the future of India”.
The manner in which the new Science, Technology and Innovation policy 2013 could be implemented would form the central theme of the annual session. A road map for investing science into the development process of India is the main topic for discussion.

The centenary session is expected to serve as a platform for creating coalition among all stakeholders of science and society to pave a new path of progress for the country in the emerging global knowledge economy.
Indian Science Congress was first convened in the Asiatic Society in 1914 and Sir Asutosh Mukherjee delivered the first presidential lecture. Since then the Indian Science Congress has emerged as the Parliament of Indian Science. Since the presidential address of Sir Asutosh Mukherjee, 99 annual sessions have been conducted and the year 2012-13 is being observed as the centenary year of the Indian Science Congress.

Indian Science Congress has received wide support of the scientific community and patronage of the political will since the inception. In the year 1946-47, Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru was elected as the General President and he delivered the historic address calling for friendship of people with science in January 1947.
Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) unanimously resolved to elect Dr. Manmohan Singh, the Prime Minister of India, as the General President for the centenary year 2012-13.

Under the presidency of Dr. Singh, the year 2012-13 is being observed as the Year of Science.

During the centenary year, yearlong celebration of the Indian Science Congress is being organized nationwide. (ANI)