|  |  |  |  | 

Exclusive National News Top Headlines

Narendra Modi takes oath as Gujarat CM, Jaya travels to Ahmedabad

Ahmedabad, Dec 27 (): Narendra Modi who achieved an emphatic victory for the fourth time to become the head of a seventeen member ministry, was sworn in as Chief Minister of Gujarat by Governor Kamla Beniwal, on Wednesday which was attended by all the top BJP leaders except NDA ally JD (U).

Narendra Modi  who became the chief minister of the state for the first time in 2001, took charge for the 4th time yesterday along with seven Ministers of Cabinet rank and nine Ministers of State. Considering the day to be a memorable day  of his life, Modi  assured  the people  to live up to the faith of the people and also thanked the people of Gujarat as well as the senior  and  spiritual leaders who made their presence in the occasion and also to all those who watched the event live.

Before taking oath in Gujarati amid chants of “Bharat Mata Ki Jai, Modi took the blessing of his mother Heeraben, who was believed to be flashing the victory sign. Inviting all the BJP prominent leaders, Modi led the party to an emphatic victory in Gujarat.

With chanting of Bharat Mata Ki Jai, Modi thanked thousands of his supporters from  a flower bedecked open-top jeep after taking charge of his office in which a bunch of saffron-clad sadhus and spiritual leaders were also present.

The AIADMK chief  Jayalalithaa, who is said to be very close to Modi ,  went to congratulate him in person on this day of his  tremendous victory in Gujarat and also offered her best wishes to him. Along with a galaxy of top BJP leaders, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa who added grace to the event, fuelled speculations to have a possible realignment with BJP-led NDA.

Along with Jayalalithaa, others who attended the function were Punjab Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal, Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray, as well as MNS chief Raj Thackeray. Meanwhile Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar who is having a coalition government in Bihar with BJP since November 2005, kept himself away on this auspicious day as expected.