|  |  |  |  | 

Exclusive National News Top Headlines

Congress selects Raja, Kalmadi and Kanimozhi as members of standing committee

New Delhi, Oct 4 (): The ruling Congress on Wednesday nominated former Union minister A Raja  the prime accused in the 2G spectrum case and Suresh Kalmadi, the major culprit in the Common wealth game scam as  members of Parliamentary Standing Committees on Wednesday.

“Let whatever be the charge or accusation, to be on a committee, it becomes the right of a member of the parliament,” said P C Chacko party spokesperson while talking to reporters. The Privilege Committee of Lok Sabha, chaired   by Chacko said that each and every member of parliament should be allowed to be on a committee and no one has the right to deny his or her  freedom, added Mr Chacko.

When Mr Chacko was asked that was it fair on the part of the Congress party to nominate members like Kalmadi and Raja, who were found to be guilty by the CBI and were also sent to jail, “It is his freedom to be on a committee,” said Chacko.

Members decide and select their own choice for certain Parliamentary Committees and according to their choice they are approved as members. While Raja who stands for Dravida Munnettra Kazhagam has been selected to the Standing Committee on Energy,  Kalmadi on External Affairs   and Kanimozhi, who is the DMK MP as well as the daughter of the DMK chief Karunanidhi  on Home Affairs.

The role of the Parliamentary Standing Committees is to inspect the bill and give their opinion to the planned legislation associated about the regarding ministries. Raja had been behind the bars for more than a year and Kalmadi had been kept in jail for nearly nine months, said sources.

While defending its stand the ruling Congress maintained by saying that we don’t think there was anything wrong about selecting Raja and Kalmadi to the standing committees. The BJP, on the other hand criticized Sonia Gandhi as it felt that the decision to nominate Raja and Kalmadi to the standing committee was taken by the Congress president Sonia Gandhi.