|  |  |  |  | 

News Sourced Sports Wired

Three Indian players named in ICC ODI Team of the Year

Johannesburg, Sep 15(ANI): India captain MS Dhoni along with batsmen Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli were named in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) one-day team of the year on Friday.

Dhoni, who was included in the team for a fifth year in succession, was named the captain of the team, which included seven players from the sub-continent.

Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga and wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara along with Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal and all rounder Shahid Afridi were also named in the team.

England captain Alastair Cook and paceman Steven Finn, Australian skipper Michael Clarke completed the lineup.

“This team, along with the test team of the year was extremely difficult to decide upon, but we feel the side has strength to bat well down the order while also having a good variety forany type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack,” Sports24 quoted Clive Lloyd, the chairman of the ICC Awards selection panel, as saying.

“With six countries represented and a vast expanse of talent the team would be a challenge to beat for any number of opposition sides,” he added.

ICC one-day team of the Year (in batting order): Gautam Gambhir (India), Alastair Cook (England), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Virat Kohli (India), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India, wicketkeeper/captain), Michael Clarke (Australia), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), MorneMorkel (South Africa), Steven Finn (England), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan). 12th Man – Shane Watson (Australia). (ANI)