|  |  |  |  | 

News Sourced Sports Wired

Lara, Bakewell to be inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame at LG ICC Awards 2012

Colombo, Sep.13 (ANI): The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced that prolific West Indian batsman Brian Lara will join the 66 male members of the Hall of Fame while England’s Enid Bakewell will be the third women to be inducted.

Lara and Bakewell will attend the LG ICC Awards on 15 September at Waters Edge, Colombo and will be inducted formally, an ICC release said.

Ahead of the evening ceremony, the duo will be available in a press conference at the Taj Samudra Hotel, Galle Face, Colombo, on Friday from 7.30 p.m. to 9.30 p.m.

ICC President Alan Issac and ICC Chief Executive David Richardson will attend the event. Richardson will also announce the ICC ODI Team of the Year at the function.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame was set up in 2009, the ICC’s Centenary year.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame – initial inductees (55):

Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O’Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell.

2009 Inductees:

Herbert Sutcliffe, Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett.

2010 Inductees

Rachael Heyhoe Flint, Ken Barrington, Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner.

2011 Inductees

Belinda Clark, Frederick Spofforth, Curtly Ambrose, Alan Davidson. (ANI)