|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli nominated for top ICC awards

New Delhi, Aug 13 (): Virat Kohli, India batsman and the leading run-scorer in ODIs this year and Sachin Tendulkar has been nominated for the top ICC Awards 2012.

While, Sachin Tendulkar has once again been nominated for the ICC People’s Choice award, Virat Kohli has been nominated for the Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year awards.

The other nominations for the People’s Choice award are Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, England’s James Anderson and South Africa’s Jacques Kallis and Vernon Philander.

India captain Dhoni and opening batsman Gautam Gambhir have also been nominated for the ODI Cricketer of the Year award.

The winners will be selected by the cricket fans all around the world by voting for their favourite player online from a short-list of five cricketers. This is the third time in the history of the awards; the fans are getting the opportunity to select the winner. This time the fans will be filling an application on the ICC’s official Facebook page: www.facebook.com/cricketicc. Voting will be open until midnight August 31.

Nominees for the ICC Cricketer of The Year Award are:-

Virat Kohli (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Stuart Broad (Eng), Alastair Cook (Eng), Michael Clarke (Aus), Vernon Philander (SA), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Kumar Sangakkara (SL).

Nominees of the ODI Cricketer of the Year Awards are:-

Shahid Afridi (Pak), Michael Clarke (Aus), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Alastair Cook (Eng), Steven Finn (Eng), MS Dhoni (Ind), Gautam Gambhir (Ind), Virat Kohli (Ind), Lasith Malinga (SL), Shakib Al Hasan (Bang), Brendon McCullum (NZ), Sunil Narine (WI), Morne Morkel (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Shane Watson (Aus), Brendan Taylor (Zim).

Nominees for the Test honour are:-

Hashim Amla (SA), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Stuart Broad (Eng), Michael Clarke (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Jacques Kallis (SA), Matt Prior (Eng), Vernon Philander (SA), Marlon Samuels (WI), Dale Steyn (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA).

This year’s ICC Awards includes 11 individual prizes.

The ICC Awards ceremony is now in its ninth year and this year it will be held in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004 and 2011), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008) and Bengaluru (2010).