|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

India – Sri Lanka T20: India beat Sri Lanka by 39 runs

Pallekele, Aug 7 (): Irfan Pathan and Virat Kohli shines as India beat Sri Lanka by 39 runs in the T20 match played at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

Chasing a target of 156 in 20 overs, the Lankans are bundled out for 116 in 20 overs. Earlier in the innings Irfan Pathan collapsed the top order batsman Tilakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga and Mahela Jayawardene in his first three overs. Pathan bowled out Dilshan (0) in the first over and then sent back Tharanga (5) in the third to reduce Sri Lanka to 18/2. Jayawardene tried to rescue his side with 5 fours, was out for 26 off Irfan Pathan.

Lahiru Thirimanne (20 from 15 balls) and Angelo Mathews (31 from 29 balls) made 33 runs partnership. Thirimanne was bowled out by Ashwin in the tenth over and the Lankan batsmen were collapsed by Ashok Dinda who took 4 wickets for 19 runs in his 3 overs.

Earlier, Sri Lankan skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss put India into bat. Virat Kohli hammered 68 off 48 balls with 11 boundaries and a six to help India to reach a modest total of 155 for 3 in 20 overs. Kohli and opener Rahane made 74 runs second wicket partnership after Gambir was bowled out by Shaminda Eranga in the second over for six runs. Suresh Raina made 34 off 25 balls and Dhoni made 16 of 14 balls in the end of the innings.

Score Board:

India 155 for 3 in 20 overs (Virat Kohli 68, Suresh Raina 34 no, Ajinkya Rahane 21; Shaminda Eranga 2 for 30)

Sri Lanka 116 all out in 18 overs (Angelo Mathews 31; Ashok Dinda 4 for 19,Irfan Pathan 3 for 27)

India won by 39 runs

Man of the Match: Irfan Pathan

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ashok Dinda.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga.