|  |  |  |  | 

Exclusive Headlines National News

IIT-JEE results declared, seat allotment list on June 14 and 15

New Delhi,May 19 (): The results of IIT-Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) were declared on Friday. About 6,654 candidates appeared for the entrance from Assam out of which 110 candidates have been selected for counselling. From IIT Guwahati zone it was Rohit Kumar who is the topper with an all India rank (AIR) of 79 and Sabyasachee Baruah who topped the northeast with an AIR of 514.

Apart from this, a total of 1,099 candidates appeared for the exams from other parts of the northeast region out of which eight candidates were qualified for counselling. From Guwahati zone out of a total of 62,159 candidates who registered themselves, 1,280 were capable to make it to the rank list.

In addition to this, gender-wise performance of the IIT Guwahati is: out of 43,252 male candidates, 878 were selected and 16,130 female candidates, 92 were able to qualify, reports said.

IIT-JEE is considered to be one of the prime entrance examinations of the nation and those who clear the entrance becomes eligible for getting admission in all the 15 IITs throughout the country, IT-BHU and ISM Dhanbad.

In 2012, a total of 5, 06,343 candidates have been recorded, that was conducted by seven IITs on Apr 8. This year as per category wise, complete cut-off marks were declared before commencing of the examinations.Out of that a total of 24,112 candidates were able to achieve the minimum necessary marks, in which a total of 15,500 candidates were called for on-line counselling to get admission to 9,647 seats in the 15 IITs .

Arpit Agarwal, the candidate who appeared for the joint entrance exam from IIT Delhi zone was the first to top this year’s all-India list of successful candidates.

A candidate from Chandigarh, Bijoy Singh Kochar has achieved 2nd rank and Nishant N Kaushik from Bhilai stood 3rd in the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) for IIT-JEE 2012.

On June 14, the first seat allotment list will be out and on June 15 the second list shall be out. The final seat allotment shall be declared on July 6.