|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

Bangladesh stuns India, Sachin’s 100th 100 in vain

Dhaka, Mar 17 (): Bangladesh brought India down in the fourth ODI of Asia Cup.

The heroes of Bangladeshi win were opener Tamim Iqbal (70) Jahurul Islam (53) and Shakib Al Hasan (49) as they blasted with sheer grit to pull the rug from under India’s feet.

To finish off the match, Bangladesh skipper Mushfikur Rahim hit a fiery 46 off 25 balls and Nasir Hossain supported him well with 54-run knock to record a shocking win, their first against India since 2003 World Cup.

After 50 overs, India (289/5) has recorded their highest total against Bangladesh in the Asia Cup, eclipsing the 284 for three at Karachi on June 28, 2008.

India conceded 36 runs in their last 2.2 overs, which proved fatal in the end. Pathan gave away 17 in the 48th and Praveen 14 in the 49th to let Bangladesh an incredible win.

Raina has been dismissed for the first time against Bangladesh in ODIs – his aggregate being 237 in six innings, five times not out, at an average of 237.00; including a hundred – 116 not out at Karachi on June 28, 2008.

Earlier, master batsman Sachin Tendulkar became the first batsman in history of cricket to score 100 international centuries, adding another milestone in his record-breaking career.

Sachin scored his last century (111) against South Africa at Nagpur during the World Cup on March 12 last year. It took him 138 deliveries to reach the three-figure mark, probably one of his slowest ODI tons.

Tendulkar is the most capped player in the history of the game with 188 Test and 462 one-day appearances since making his debut against Pakistan in Karachi in November, 1989.

Tendulkar got to his 49th one-day international century and first against Bangladesh with a clipped single to square leg off spinner Shakib Al Hassan, and did not celebrate much despite the mounting pressure of expectations from millions of his Indian compatriots.

Tendulkar reached another milestone to become the first batsman to manage 2000 fours in ODIs – 2011 in 451 innings.